Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-04-2019, 11:28 AM   #1
Albany Tom

Default Model A starter clunk then no electrical

Hi everyone. First post here and I'm not an expert. Thanks in advance for your advice and patience.

I've a 1930 Model A. Has 12V conversion.Worked perfect for 2 years. Last week went to start and likely pulled up too early on the starter, heard the "clunk" I've read about here, then no electricity (starter, lights, nothing). Battery indicates 12V. Fuse between starter and junction is intact. Per posts here, tried pushing backwards in 3rd gear. No clunk after full rotation of the engine. Testing voltage where battery cable connects to starter, no voltage.

I removed starter switch (taking starter out of the circuit) and connect battery cable to wire to junction box through fuse), I have lights again. What does that indicate? Is my starter toast and has a short? Get a new starter? If so, do I get a rebuilt? Do I need a special starter because I have 12v? Thanks again all. Tom
Albany Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 11:42 AM   #2
30 Closed Cab PU

Default Re: Model A starter clunk then no electrical

Measure voltage at battery terminals. Then measure from +12v battery post to the frame. Should be 12 v, if not bad cable, loose battery cable connection, or terminal on cable , and the connections on frame for the cable need to be cleaned.

Then measure from - battery post to starter cable connection, should measure 12v, if not same as above - bad cable, loose connection, connections need cleaning.

Do you have a Master cutoff switch - perhaps bad switch, bad connections.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 11:58 AM   #3
Ed Wendell

Tom,
You say no voltage at starter end of cable. I would check the cable for corrosion in the lug connections, that can be a problem with the heavy current draw from the starter.