Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-05-2013, 09:20 PM   #1
NormC

Default Which Transmission to Use?

I am new to the "Barn" and to the Flathead. I have finally been able to purchase a childhood dream of mine, 1936 Pick-Up. I replaced the 36LB which had cracks in the block in a couple of places, beyond economical repair. I installed a 46' 59A in its place. The question and help I need with is which transmission should I use? T5, F150 or Mitchell overdrive. So I am looking for arguing points for each option. The truck has the original banjo rearend and I am not sure of the gearing ratio. I look forward to your opinions and suggestions and comments!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.jpg (55.9 KB, 136 views)
File Type: jpg photo1.JPG (136.3 KB, 155 views)
NormC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:32 PM   #2
Shadetree

Default Re: Which Transmission to Use?

Tough decision. T5's are nice but the Mitchell overdrive permits you to use your original transmission.

I changed the differential gears to a 3.54 in my `35 and love it! I would guess your truck has a 4.11. I am not famililar with the F150 transmission. 5 speed?

BTW that is one gorgeous pickup!
Old 02-05-2013, 09:43 PM   #3
deuce lover

I vote for the T5.Full synchro,no leaks.You'll have to get the open drive conversion if you keep the stock banjo rear.Other things to do but for me was well worth it.Krylon32 on here sells all the adapters and info.Mitchell probably the simplest and less work.
deuce lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:56 PM   #4
Kurt in NJ