Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Closed Thread

Old 09-07-2010, 02:30 AM   #1
forever4
BANNED

Default Whose Knowledge Is It, Anyway?

Well, I just received another personal attack on fordbarn by a person who also took the time to jab my 'Ford Garage' web site as being a collection of "other peoples information and techniques".
I imagine so.

So let me say this about that.

For the most part, everything everyone 'knows' in life (and about old Fords) came from somewhere else. It was all learned along the way on each our journey. Not a lot of it was self-taught or self-discovered in a vacuum by anyone, I imagine. And not a lot of it is a secret.

And even those things that are self-taught or self-discovered are rarely unique to a single individual. Other people have also learned and discovered the very same things on their own, or in collaboration with others. And they shared it. And they taught it. And we all are sometimes (or even often) mistaken. And so it goes.

I have learned a lot from others. My learnings are just my learnings. They may or may not be facts. They may or may not be complete or correct. And they are subject to change as soon as the next best info shows up.

I have never claimed that any of the info on my web site is all my original thinking, or that it is even correct for that matter. But it is my effort to share something I am interested in with other people who may also be interested.

And I have taken the time and expense to put some of my learnings in a public place where it is freely available for others to consider on their own journey.

Agree or disagree, right or wrong, helpful or confusing, it is there for everyone's consideration.
Or not.

Lots of people on fordbarn, and elsewhere, over the years have graciously allowed me to repost their excellent photos, descriptions, and analysis, and I have credited them as best as possible.