Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model T (1909-1927)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-04-2013, 03:15 PM   #1
woodrow

Default Ammeter hook-up

Working on a 1914 Model T Speedster. The car is 12 volt with an alternator. I would like to put in an ammeter---which I've now done but I haven't hooked it up yet. There are two terminals on the back side of the ammeter but, being dumb on things electrical, I don't know where to connect them. If I were forced to guess I'd say one to the back of the alternator and the other to ground---but I don't want to mess up. I'd appreciate your comments. Thanks
woodrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:39 PM   #2
15max

Default Re: Ammeter hook-up

I'm no electrical expert, but the ammeter on a standard T goes between the generator and the battery. Is your ammeter made for AC? Standard Ford ammeter for a DC generator may not work with the alternator.
15max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:41 PM   #3
stevests

You need to know the output of the alternator which normally put out more than 20-30 amps, as most 6 volt gauges are - I've seen 60 amp gauges which I'm assuming are for higher output generator/alternators but I believe you might want to hook up a voltmeter instead.
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:59 PM   #4
yachtsmanbill

What you really need to do is put a VOLTMETER in there. Youll need a separate switch to turn the meter on and off as the key will only turn it on if its on BATT; MAG takes that line out of the circuit. A VM goes from + to ground to read anywhere on the system. An ammeter needs to be in line. A OEM meter can handle 6 volts/20 amps, but a 12V/40 amp alternator will need to be connected parallel to a shunt. ws

Old 12-04-2013, 05:33 PM   #5
woodrow