Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2020, 08:19 PM   #1
JSRTUDOR
Senior Member
 
JSRTUDOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 109
Default '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Hi everyone, I am planning to swap out my 223 with a 272. It has a 3 on the tree. I noticed the linkage is on the driver side of the one barrel on the 223, and on the passenger side of the two barrel on the 272. Does this mean I am going to need a different throttle cable and linkage? Also, will a four barrel intake from a 292/312 fit a 272? Thanks!
JSRTUDOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 09:24 PM   #2
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,524
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

What throttle cable do you have now? I believe original may have been a rod & lever arm mounted to the firewall???
The manual transmission throttle linkage is much simpler than the automatic version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRTUDOR View Post
... will a four barrel intake from a 292/312 fit a 272? Thanks!
Yes but... the 4bbl carb, intake manif and distributor were changed by Ford each year in '55, '56, '57+... maybe even the throttle linkage and air cleaners too.

The 4bbl setups from '55, '56 & '57+ should be installed as a year matched set, not mix & match. The carb vacuum pressure & plumbing to the distributor isn't the same until '57 and newer.
The '57+ versions are generally preferred due to the 'new' mechanical timing advance design of the distributors and more modern style (not teapot) carburetors with the larger bolt pattern.
.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg early LoadOmatic dist, copy.jpg (88.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg '55 carb & ECB-B intake.jpg (75.9 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg ECZ-A intake with choke tube.jpg (80.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg ECZ-A manifold & 56 carb copy.jpg (40.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg clean ECZ B, p side.jpg (71.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 55 56 flat dist rotor index.jpg (58.8 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Vacumn Advance- 55, 56, 57.jpg (5.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 57 dist c.jpg (56.2 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 57 dist, shaft length.jpg (56.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 59+ dist pivot plate, curved adv arm.jpg (61.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 57 carb.jpg (85.1 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by dmsfrr; 08-21-2020 at 11:42 AM. Reason: add image
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-21-2020, 10:51 AM   #3
JeffB2
Senior Member
 
JeffB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 1,285
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRTUDOR View Post
Hi everyone, I am planning to swap out my 223 with a 272. It has a 3 on the tree. I noticed the linkage is on the driver side of the one barrel on the 223, and on the passenger side of the two barrel on the 272. Does this mean I am going to need a different throttle cable and linkage? Also, will a four barrel intake from a 292/312 fit a 272? Thanks!
You might want to hang out here to see pictures of the installed linkage and parts sources. https://www.facebook.com/groups/fordyblock Your 272 like the 239 used the Load-O-Matic carburetor & distributor combo,with later 4 barrels they do not have the proper vacuum for your earlier distributor. Usually when swapping to a 4 barrell most will also swap to '57 and later distributor.
JeffB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 11:42 AM   #4
darrell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: p.e.i.
Posts: 843
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

if you use a 4 bbl your 223 linkage will be on the same side
darrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 07:59 PM   #5
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,822
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

From what I remember from converting my two bbl 54 to a 4bbl, the part that attaches to the firewall is the same. The difference is a piece that attaches to the back of the intake that crosses the intake to the right (passenger) side.


Now both were V8's so I don't know if there is a difference in the piece of linkage that bolts to the firewall for a 6 cyl. If someone has a 54-56 two bbl car I hope they wouldl post a pic.


The intakes will swap with no problems. There may be some port mismatch if your using 55/56 heads with a 57 intake, but it should work ok. If your using the 55/56 intake, no problem


If everything goes right, below is a pic if the 54 linkage (2BBL). It's for an automatic, but the only difference should be the kickdown rod for the automatic Notice the piece at the top with two holes in it - this is the piece that bolts to the back if the intake
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s-l1600.jpg (34.2 KB, 19 views)
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria

Last edited by paul2748; 08-21-2020 at 08:12 PM.
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 04:46 AM   #6
darrell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: p.e.i.
Posts: 843
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
that piece that bolts to the intake is for automatics.
darrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 08:59 AM   #7
54vicky
Senior Member
 
54vicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oakville Ontario
Posts: 523
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

in the picture paul posted I have marked the automatic transmission rod in red and the carb linkage in green to help you hopefully.as darrel stated the bracket by the spring is for automatics
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s-l1600_LI.jpg (216.2 KB, 8 views)
54vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 09:05 AM   #8
54vicky
Senior Member
 
54vicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oakville Ontario
Posts: 523
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

double post
54vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 10:42 PM   #9
Daves55Sedan
Senior Member
 
Daves55Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Did I not send you the entire complete original throttle linkage for a '55/56 272 (for use with 2-bbl carb)? Using everything that I sent you, there is no need for additional cable. There originally was no cable, all mechanical. I believe the only thing you nee3ed to get was the idle return spring.
Did I not also say that this was for 2 BBL (Holley 2100 or Ford EBU) carb?
The stuff I sent you will not work for Holley 4-bbl teapot or anything else without modifications.
If you have a cable now and are going to use a 272 with 2-bbl ('54/55 or '56), just use all the stuff I sent you and get a idle return spring. You have EVERYTHING needed from accelerator pedal to carburator. Throw that aftermarket cable in the trash.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 10:49 PM   #10
Daves55Sedan
Senior Member
 
Daves55Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRTUDOR View Post
will a four barrel intake from a 292/312 fit a 272? Thanks!
The intake will fit on a 272, but the throttle linkage for the Holley Teapot is COMPLETELY different from that used on the 2-bbl intake manifold.
In other words, If you have now decided to put a 4-bbl intake on the 272, you might as well throw out all that stuff I sent you.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 05:56 PM   #11
JSRTUDOR
Senior Member
 
JSRTUDOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 109
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Thanks for the information everyone!
JSRTUDOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 05:59 PM   #12
JSRTUDOR
Senior Member
 
JSRTUDOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 109
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Umm, I don’t think you have ever sent me anything.
JSRTUDOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 06:14 PM   #13
JSRTUDOR
Senior Member
 
JSRTUDOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 109
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

I would like to ad some pictures but this site won’t let me. Keeps asking for a url
JSRTUDOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 07:40 PM   #14
scicala
Senior Member
 
scicala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Detroit suburb, MI
Posts: 2,944
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daves55Sedan View Post
The intake will fit on a 272, but the throttle linkage for the Holley Teapot is COMPLETELY different from that used on the 2-bbl intake manifold.
In other words, If you have now decided to put a 4-bbl intake on the 272, you might as well throw out all that stuff I sent you.
Dave, I thought you sent that throttle linkage to Steve Fritz for his '55 Ranch Wagon in Wisconsin ? He bought the car from me last year, and I thought he told me that ?

Sal
scicala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 08:36 PM   #15
Daves55Sedan
Senior Member
 
Daves55Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Quote:
Originally Posted by scicala View Post
Dave, I thought you sent that throttle linkage to Steve Fritz for his '55 Ranch Wagon in Wisconsin ? He bought the car from me last year, and I thought he told me that ?Sal
Ooops, was it Steve I sold that stuff to??? I've sent him a few things lately. I got confused. Sorry!
And, I don't have another 272 throttle linkage assembly left to sell either.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 08:52 PM   #16
steve fritz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: onalaska , wisconsin
Posts: 485
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

YEP! It was me, and it works great!
Thanks Dave,
Steve
steve fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 11:51 AM   #17
54vicky
Senior Member
 
54vicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oakville Ontario
Posts: 523
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

CRS strikes again it comes with age.now an apoligie may be in order to J
54vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 08:15 PM   #18
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,524
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRTUDOR View Post
I would like to ad some pictures but this site won’t let me. Keeps asking for a url
You have to use the "Advanced" reply window not the "Quick" reply. To attach photos there's a Paperclip button at the top of the text box that opens a pop-up Manage Attachments box to browse to the photo you want, then select and upload it.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:40 PM   #19
Daves55Sedan
Senior Member
 
Daves55Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2748 View Post
Now both were V8's so I don't know if there is a difference in the piece of linkage that bolts to the firewall for a 6 cyl. If someone has a 54-56 two bbl car I hope they wouldl post a pic.
The '55/56 V8 2-bbl has a small two-hole mounted stabilizer on the firewall for the throttle linkage.
The '55/56 I-block 6 has 3-hole mounted bellcrank that mounts on the firewall.
Heres a photo of the 6-cyl part. It is the silver thing mounted on the firewall.
Courier4.jpg
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:50 PM   #20
Daves55Sedan
Senior Member
 
Daves55Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: '56 Mainline Throttle linkage

Here's a photo of the parts needed to assemble the throttle linkage on a 55/56 272 with original style 2-bbl carb. Only thing not shown is connecting link and return spring.
33.JPG
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.