Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2020, 08:04 PM   #21
terry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 121
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Have you tried it without thermostats? I don't think the 36's came from the factories with them installed. I don't use them and have skip's pressure valve with an original radiator cap. I don't have overheating problems . Terry
terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 10:58 PM   #22
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,080
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry View Post
Have you tried it without thermostats? I don't think the 36's came from the factories with them installed. I don't use them and have skip's pressure valve with an original radiator cap. I don't have overheating problems . Terry
Where does the idea Ford v8s came from the factory without thermostats come from? Running without them is a bad idea for a lot of reasons.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-28-2020, 07:59 AM   #23
terry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 121
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

I'm not sure where I heard that, but do remember an old friend of mine saying he had a 36 ford and would have to put cardboard in front of the radiator in the winter so the engine would heat up to normal. I don't drive mine in the winter, though.
terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 09:21 AM   #24
54vicky
Senior Member
 
54vicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oakville Ontario
Posts: 524
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry View Post
I'm not sure where I heard that, but do remember an old friend of mine saying he had a 36 ford and would have to put cardboard in front of the radiator in the winter so the engine would heat up to normal. I don't drive mine in the winter, though.
back then into at least the early 70s cardboard in front of rad was common practice up here.sorry for sidetrack just could not let that go by.
54vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:01 AM   #25
tjh6x6@aol.com
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 40
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

For what its worth, it may be the engine scale is high or partially clogged as was in mine-would constantly run 210 and spit up at idle. I used a Rydlyme descaler in my engine block-set up a pump (Harbor Freight) to circulate it for 24 hours, (careful, its lightly caustic )then flushed flushed and backflushed the block with a garden hose sprayer. Then put in vinegar, ran it a few times hot to cold cycle, then one night to sit, then got it hot and drained it, then flushed flushed flushed with clear water. An engine rebuilder said he thought the block was plugged or obstructed, and he was right. I now run distilled water and a bottle of Rislone Hypercool, now it runs 180 even on extremely hot days, no overflow. Maybe you already checked the timing and the radiator to be sure it had good cooling flow. FWIW
tjh6x6@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 11:56 AM   #26
retep
Member
 
retep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Owen Sound, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 46
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Had a similar experience myself. Turned out that the timing was retarded.
retep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 05:30 PM   #27
Vanspeed
Senior Member
 
Vanspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterford, Mich.
Posts: 3,160
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Quote:
Originally Posted by retep View Post
Had a similar experience myself. Turned out that the timing was retarded.
Bubba set up my distributor and he said it was right on the money. I did suck all the debris I could out of the block before I installed it. There wasn’t much in it. The timing on these is tricky to me. How do you do it if there is no pointer or anything as reference?
__________________
Respecting and Resurrecting Ford Model A's.
Vanspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 02:55 PM   #28
retep
Member
 
retep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Owen Sound, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 46
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

I use a vacuum gauge with car idling. I adjust distributor to get highest reading then drop back slightly. Use search as this topic has been discussed frequently and vacuum readings are well covered.
retep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 10:55 AM   #29
Vanspeed
Senior Member
 
Vanspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterford, Mich.
Posts: 3,160
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Quote:
Originally Posted by retep View Post
I use a vacuum gauge with car idling. I adjust distributor to get highest reading then drop back slightly. Use search as this topic has been discussed frequently and vacuum readings are well covered.
The adjustment is at the vacuum brake correct?
__________________
Respecting and Resurrecting Ford Model A's.
Vanspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 11:54 AM   #30
retep
Member
 
retep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Owen Sound, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 46
Default Re: ‘36 LB. temp ranges, thermostats?

Not for me. I advance or retard distributor.
I actually have no brake on at all. Again, I do this as a result of previous postings.
retep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.