Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2020, 12:45 PM   #1
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 289
Default Electrical Question ???

Could any of you electrical gurus explain to me or perhaps steer me to a remedy as to why I'm getting "feedback" through my newly installed rear LED turn indicators ONLY when the left (rear) indicator is functioning BUT getting a slight feedback causing the right rear lamp to slightly blink ?????? Not doing it the other way. I have resistors inline so the "blink" is just fine !
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 01:56 PM   #2
Johnny Nitro
Member
 
Johnny Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 45
Default Re: Electrical Question ???

All I know is that leds are very sensitive to interference. Could be wired completely properly, but an outside source is causing the “misfire”. I’m sure a more systematic approach is prudent, but maybe a diode on both taillights so the signal only goes one way? Just spit ballin’.
Johnny Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-30-2020, 05:03 PM   #3
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,531
Default Re: Electrical Question ???

Sounds like it could be a ground issue.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:06 PM   #4
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 289
Default Re: Electrical Question ???

First thing I did this a.m. was run a ground from the new light to the frame - same "bleed" issue - turn right indicator on and left doesn't do it ?
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 09:25 AM   #5
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 629
Default Re: Electrical Question ???

Turn signal switch may have a pinched wire inside. The many wires are packed pretty tight.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 10:11 AM   #6
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,531
Default Re: Electrical Question ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badpuppy View Post
Turn signal switch may have a pinched wire inside. The many wires are packed pretty tight.


The wires are tight in there.

Those units are usually full of a grease and I've had to clean most of it out to stop 'bleed thru'. Kinda forgot about that. The unit has to be grounded itself also.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 02:31 PM   #7
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 289
Default Re: Electrical Question ???

Thanks for the suggestions, fellas ! I did have to remove the Signal Stat 900 to grind the thick paint off the column to get a good ground - I'll look after the "grease" issue.
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.