Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-07-2019, 11:36 AM   #1
iconpro

Default Marmon Herrington info and snogo

Hi ford people
I'm new to this game and have found myself a fun project to work on.
What I'm looking for is someone or some people to help decipher the info plates on my truck.
I don't have any regy yet but I'm working on it so if anyone can help that would be awesome.
I was told it was a 1941 but I think it might be a bit newer then that.
please see plates in the pics
KMM5-4-541101
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ford all wheel drive.jpg (119.3 KB, 178 views)
File Type: jpg marmon plate .jpg (91.7 KB, 168 views)
File Type: jpg sngo plate.jpg (72.2 KB, 162 views)
iconpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 12:11 PM   #2
rotorwrench

Default Re: Marmon Herrington info and snogo

The big tag shows a contract number than begins with 42. Most of the contracts set up during the war originate in 1942 but could have been manufactured as late as mid 1945 and sometimes later.

It looks like all the snow removal gear and the powerplant for it have been removed unless you have them separately. This is one of several threads on here about them.
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...1310&showall=1

They were based on the Ford 1 1/2 ton truck chassis with the Marmon Herrington modified front axle, transfer case, and slip clutch set up. The axles are both Timken Detroit types but the front one was modified by MH.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 02:26 PM   #3
supereal

There is a good article on the four wheel drive conversion in an issue of the Hagerty magazine published by the Hagerty Insurance Company of Grand Traverse Michigan. It has history of the M-H conversions, and follows two pickups with the equipment. It was sold as a kit years ago, and usually was dealer installed. Later it was factory installed.