Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2017, 05:42 PM   #1
fottyjs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 181
Default Petronix and generator

Any body have problems running a 6volt generator with a Petronix distributor?
fottyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:57 PM   #2
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 811
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Threads from around 2000 reported high failure rates of 6 volt negative ground Pertronix; many blamed it on voltage spikes from 6 volt generators. I suspect the problem has been fixed by now, but you should check. Search Pertronix on this site.
drolston is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 07-18-2017, 09:28 PM   #3
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Pertronics and 6v positive ground are like water and oil. They don't mix well.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:24 PM   #4
Lakewood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Parkinson 4115 QLD Australia
Posts: 15
Default Re: Petronix and generator

I have heard elsewhere the early Petronix were affected by voltage spikes however I think this has been fixed. I have just installed a Petronix ML-181P6 (8cyl, 6v, pos eth) part number 5809P6 and it seems OK.
I am using this with a"Flame Thrower 2" coil, part number 45011, and I have found that it produces a 45kV approx spark which, by my experiments, requires the spark plug gap to be increased to .045" otherwise the engine runs very rough.
Lakewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 06:43 AM   #5
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 249
Default Re: Petronix and generator

I just called Pertonix last week and talked to a tech. He assured me that a 6v pos grnd generator is fine. But he also strongly recomended tha I don't use solid core wire. He said it causes some kind of interference with the module. That said, I have 2 friends with 6v early Plymouths and no problem in over 8 yrs of service with the original copper wires. I will follow the mfg recomendations.
Regards, Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 07:37 AM   #6
fottyjs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 181
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Thanks all for your input....Jack
fottyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 07:55 AM   #7
prpmmp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: west grove Pa.
Posts: 219
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by fottyjs View Post
Thanks all for your input....Jack
Maybe not the same but I put one on my Farmall Cub LowBoy, was working great for 5 years till I sold it! 6V Positive ground. Pete
prpmmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 08:13 AM   #8
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 6,867
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Does Pertronix make a surge protector (like Mallory) to protect the module from electrical spikes? Also, solid copper spark plug wires are not recommended for electronic ignitions. Use TAYLOR 8MM Spiro Pro Spiral Wound Core plug wires.
Be sure to read this thread posted earlier.
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=224985
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 11:32 AM   #9
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Petronix and generator

I am running a pertronix on my 49 with their coil. Solid core wire and .025 on the spark plug gap. Probably got about 7k since installing it with a 6 volt pos grnd generator.
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 12:29 PM   #10
scooder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,573
Default Re: Petronix and generator

I gota agree with Frank, I've fitted a bunch of petronic setups on British stuff. Four and six cylinder sports cars and the like. Often fitted on a car with solid copper leads and a dynamo (generator), not had any problems with them.
I'd like to add, I fit them because the customer wants them, personally if, I say if you can find quality reliable condensers, there is nothing wrong with a good old points setup.
Also, never had to increase the plug gap as one mentioned above. Increasing the plug gap and therefore the resistance in the high tension circuit, makes the liklihood of a crossfire or a spark jump to nearest ground increase hugely. This can wreck the distributor cap or caps and rotor and leads.
I can see no reason why the engine would run ruff with a stock plug gap unless the engine was running real rich or fat. If it is really rich, with a stock plug gap, if you pull the. High tension lead off the coil and hold it so its not quite touching the high tension terminal , the rpm will pick up a bit as the higher resistance (the gap you just made) makes a more powerful spark.
The flamethrower coil may say X kv, but that's what it's capable of if needed, if the plug gap is stock and the rest of the ignition system is up to par and the engine is in good tune, it'll never need the huge X kv and won't supply it. It's good for economy tuning though as you can run a real lean mixture and have the power necessary to fire that very lean mixture. I would not advise using a. 045" plug gap, it will bring with it reliability issues of the ignition system. There's a reason those HEI Ignitions have a trash can size cap, it moves the high tension terminals further away from one another, to iradicate crossfire with large plug gaps resistive leads, boots, plugs, big smog era open chambers, often nonexistent quench and high voltage.
Sorry for long post.
Martin
scooder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 08:57 PM   #11
koates
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia.
Posts: 1,336
Default Re: Petronix and generator

A very good and correct post Martin. I agree with you on all points. Regards, Kevin.
koates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 07:00 AM   #12
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Petronix and generator

I agree with Scooder about the reliable condensers. Put a echlin in my 49 and a motorcraft in my 66 mustang and both failed. I figured if I was going to use unreliable parts then I'd go electronic.
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 11:35 AM   #13
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,377
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Why have supressor caps at the generator output become unfashionable...a .47uF cap takes a lot of the garbage and spikes away.
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 12:28 PM   #14
BUBBAS IGNITION
Senior Member
 
BUBBAS IGNITION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SPEEDWAY INDIANA
Posts: 3,687
Default Re: Petronix and generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooder View Post
I gota agree with Frank, I've fitted a bunch of petronic setups on British stuff. Four and six cylinder sports cars and the like. Often fitted on a car with solid copper leads and a dynamo (generator), not had any problems with them.
I'd like to add, I fit them because the customer wants them, personally if, I say if you can find quality reliable condensers, there is nothing wrong with a good old points setup.
Also, never had to increase the plug gap as one mentioned above. Increasing the plug gap and therefore the resistance in the high tension circuit, makes the liklihood of a crossfire or a spark jump to nearest ground increase hugely. This can wreck the distributor cap or caps and rotor and leads.
I can see no reason why the engine would run ruff with a stock plug gap unless the engine was running real rich or fat. If it is really rich, with a stock plug gap, if you pull the. High tension lead off the coil and hold it so its not quite touching the high tension terminal , the rpm will pick up a bit as the higher resistance (the gap you just made) makes a more powerful spark.
The flamethrower coil may say X kv, but that's what it's capable of if needed, if the plug gap is stock and the rest of the ignition system is up to par and the engine is in good tune, it'll never need the huge X kv and won't supply it. It's good for economy tuning though as you can run a real lean mixture and have the power necessary to fire that very lean mixture. I would not advise using a. 045" plug gap, it will bring with it reliability issues of the ignition system. There's a reason those HEI Ignitions have a trash can size cap, it moves the high tension terminals further away from one another, to iradicate crossfire with large plug gaps resistive leads, boots, plugs, big smog era open chambers, often nonexistent quench and high voltage.
Sorry for long post.
Martin

AMEN- AMEN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
If it Makes Spark, we do it !!!!
www.bubbasignition.com
jimlinder@juno.com
BUBBAS IGNITION is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.