Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2016, 03:42 PM   #1
coupe1942
Senior Member
 
coupe1942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 357
Default Repo ignition switch plate questions

This is a bit difficult to explain so I hope you understand what i am asking:

I have an OFF and ON ignition switch plate which I am replacing on my '30 ccpu. The original one was missing when I got the truck so I got a replacement. The old dash was powder coated as it was in sad shape and this is a daily driver in which I was not concerned about returning it to the nickle plate.

Any rate, the black metal OFF/ON plate seems to me to need to set inside the trim plate more fully in order to allow the four metal tabs to stick out further for locking the thing in place into the instrument panel. Does that sound right, as I am guessing only since the original was not there to compare it to?

Do I need to file this round plate around the edges to make it drop down into the trim ring? I have pressed hard on it and it just does not seem to push down any. I didn't want to ruin it or bend it in trying to lower the part down inside the outer trim ring.

As it is, I can get the four tabs to go into the slots in the instrument panel, but not enough to bend them over or have any pressure hold them in place when the ON/Off plate and trim ring are pushed down.

Are the four tabs supposed to be bent down or do they simply hold pressure to keep the plate in place, as they look to be curved to me? Sorry that the attached photos are not more clear. Once everything is in place, this unit does not seem to go as flat to the instrument panel surface as I believe it should. The #1 photo probably shows best what I mean.

Am I wrong that the round inside metal OFF/ON plate fits farther into the trim ring and is then locked into place with the 4 metal tabs?

Thanks for any tips and info.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (72.9 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (84.9 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (29.4 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (34.7 KB, 44 views)
coupe1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2016, 04:02 PM   #2
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,853
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

If that is a repro switch plate ring you can do what I did, throw it in the trash and
get an original one. I just could not get it to fit .

Bob
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-20-2016, 04:19 PM   #3
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

Is the thickness of the powder coating taking up the needed space? I have used the repos without issues
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2016, 04:22 PM   #4
Rancho Deluxe
Senior Member
 
Rancho Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 145
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

Make sure you try & put the switch assy. in the center hole on any of the re-pops..
Rancho Deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2016, 08:44 PM   #5
coupe1942
Senior Member
 
coupe1942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 357
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

Well, it appears that the disc is cut too large for the trim ring. I had a couple of different trim rings and it would not fit properly in any of them, no matter what I tried. Decided to chuck it instead of possibly damaging anything else in putzing about with it. I can mark the area an don't really have to have the lettering of Off/On on it. The metal is so flimsy that putting a bench grinder or Dremel to it would likely overheat it, warp it or scratch is all up worse than it is worth.

The powder coat is not too thick and not an issue on it as far as i can tell. Finding an original is probably not going to happen unless Ford decides to open up a parts store for 1930 Fords near me in the near future. :-)

Thanks for the suggestions, but nothing seems to have worked on this particular piece and the metal is just too flimsy to putz around with in my opinion. I really do believe the disc size is cut too large to work as it should.
coupe1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2016, 11:59 AM   #6
100IH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SW Idaho
Posts: 944
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

You might consider checking with A&L For the trim ring. They always come out on top and make parts that fit.
100IH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 02:30 PM   #7
dmaxweb
Senior Member
 
dmaxweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 399
Talking Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

Snyders current catalog describe their rings and plates as U.S.A. They also indicate the rings ae chrome whereas some others are described as stainless. Has anyone had any experience with these?

https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/P...6_ON-OFF-PLATE

Last edited by dmaxweb; 06-03-2020 at 02:36 PM.
dmaxweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 03:03 PM   #8
J Franklin
Senior Member
 
J Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 4,268
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

Got a beer can, or heavy plastic from the trash and some snips, or hole punch? A little paint and you're in business.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 08:14 PM   #9
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,153
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

how well does the plate fit the tab slots in the dash---i think the tabs are bent in too far at the base of the ring --the pictures are a bit out of focus of the tab areas to make it more than a guess
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 09:38 PM   #10
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,853
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

He may have it fixed by now as the thread is 3 1/2 years old.
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 11:21 PM   #11
SteveB31
Senior Member
 
SteveB31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 1,255
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

The on-off plate he had in his photo is a Vintique Taiwan made one,
. The USA made one fits perfect.
SteveB31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 12:09 AM   #12
J Franklin
Senior Member
 
J Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 4,268
Default Re: Repo ignition switch plate questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob C View Post
He may have it fixed by now as the thread is 3 1/2 years old.
Yes, but this is still good info for others.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.