Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-27-2013, 02:30 PM   #1
Johnnyj

Default Flathead water leak

I am new at this. Recently purchased a 47 1/2 ton p/u. I was told the bottom of engine was overhauld some time ago but never run since then. Radiator was not installed. I just installed radiator and hose, filled with water/ antifreeze and found a small drip that looks like its coming out the exhaust manifold bottom bolt just above the starter. Any idea where to start looking?
Johnnyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Mart

Default Re: Flathead water leak

Can you see the head gasket face in the area above where you can see the drip? There should not be any water in the area you describe, unless it is coming from above.

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 03:03 PM   #3
TomT/Williamsburg

If you have re-torqued the heads to the proper 60-65 ft lbs, I would pop that one bolt/stud, put on some thread sealer and re-install. That one bolt probably goes in to a water jacket and has not sealed up enough to stop water from seeping through and out.

Once you've had the engine running and got it nice and warm, I would re-torque the heads again when you've cooled down. If the leak persists I know some of the old timers have used Barrs radiator stop leak to stop this type of leak.
TomT/Williamsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:36 PM   #4
OLD...BILL

Hey Mart & Tom T. Go back and read and reread his original post. He has scoped it out pretty good. ( the header bolt, area.) AND just inside that area is the water jacket its self....someone with 18" breaker bar may have put a "TO LONG" bolt in the header bolt hole, cracked the block, just a little, Johnny it's not the end of the world....