Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2020, 07:56 PM   #1
txmike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 149
Default Lighting

Hello
Please bear with me if I get a little long winded here.
I managed to get the brakes adjust and too her (29 Coupe) for a test run.
Nice to have her on the road again after all these years and a complete frame up restoration.

Now I have a lighting problem. I get power to my lighting loom (test light on center of loom). Hook it up to the steering column and no powers to the brake lights, head lights or horn. I checked the steering column and had the correct 12/6 configuration so I am not sure what the issue is?

Should the brake lights work regardless of attaching to the steering column?
appreciate the help!
txmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 07:56 PM   #2
txmike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 149
Default Re: Lighting

PS - I tried to read all posts in this area and did not see a answer.
txmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-08-2020, 08:14 PM   #3
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 500
Default Re: Lighting

Quote:
Originally Posted by txmike View Post
Should the brake lights work regardless of attaching to the steering column?
appreciate the help!
Start with this one. Yes the brake lights should work regardless. The brake light circuit just takes a detour thru the switch. A lot of people (non-show car) just run the brake light wire direct.

The light switch is NOT one of Fords finest designs.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 08:34 PM   #4
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,152
Default Re: Lighting

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Master Cylinder View Post
Start with this one. Yes the brake lights should work regardless. The brake light circuit just takes a detour thru the switch. A lot of people (non-show car) just run the brake light wire direct.

The light switch is NOT one of Fords finest designs.
While that is very true, light switches generally were not good at that time. MANY cars caught fire here (RHD) when fuel dripped onto the light switch which is directly below the carburettor. What genius thought of that????
__________________
It is no burden to carry a little extra knowledge.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 10:19 PM   #5
29closedcabguy
Junior Member
 
29closedcabguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kingwood Texas
Posts: 26
Default Re: Lighting

There is a first and second generation light switch and they will not interchange. You might have 1/2 of one and 1/2 of the other.
29closedcabguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 08:42 AM   #6
txmike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 149
Default Re: Lighting

hmmmmm
My light switch appears new - but it was in the parts box my dad gave me before he passed
txmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:08 AM   #7
Will N
Senior Member
 
Will N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 770
Default Re: Lighting

Quote:
Originally Posted by txmike View Post
Hello
Please bear with me if I get a little long winded here.
I managed to get the brakes adjust and too her (29 Coupe) for a test run.
Nice to have her on the road again after all these years and a complete frame up restoration.

Now I have a lighting problem. I get power to my lighting loom (test light on center of loom). Hook it up to the steering column and no powers to the brake lights, head lights or horn. I checked the steering column and had the correct 12/6 configuration so I am not sure what the issue is?

Should the brake lights work regardless of attaching to the steering column?
appreciate the help!

The center contact on the loom is for the horn. The brake lights feed off the "battery" terminal. Check out the attached wiring diagram. Check if you have power there. Then check if you have power at the wire coming from the loom to the brake light switch. Then check if the switch is working.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wiring-DiagramColor2sm.jpg (93.5 KB, 13 views)
Will N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:17 AM   #8
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 672
Default Re: Lighting

You appear to me missing power from the generator to the switch (yellow wire). Check connections. The brake switch connects to the same contact plate (green wire), effectively a direct connection between generator and brake switch. Also check continuity between generator and battery if it fails only at low idle, or off.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:20 AM   #9
txmike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 149
Default Re: Lighting

great posts and thanks
any comments on the head lights? I will check for power on the loom to the lights and report back but it may be tomorrow

if we could sell the knowledge here you guys would be wealthy !
txmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:32 AM   #10
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 1,007
Default Re: Lighting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badpuppy View Post
You appear to me missing power from the generator to the switch (yellow wire). Check connections. The brake switch connects to the same contact plate (green wire), effectively a direct connection between generator and brake switch. Also check continuity between generator and battery if it fails only at low idle, or off.

My thought as well. But I have no idea why there would be voltage to the horn terminal at first and then go away when the switch is connected to the column. Unless of course there problems in the horn circuit keeping the horn from working.



No brake lights could be a red herring. With the fresh restoration maybe the tail/brake light isn't getting a good ground. Also most of the new 28/29 brake light switches are junk.



Txmike, with the light switch disconnected from the column, will the horn work if you run a jumper from the center terminal on the switch to a head stud (or other ground)? Likewise, you can jump from the park/dim/bright detente to the bat. detente on the switch plate to make sure your lights are working. All this does is confirm that the wiring/ground paths are good.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 08:34 PM   #11
txmike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 149
Default Re: Lighting

thanks will try to check tomorrow if work and grandkids don't get in the way.'
work - i mind
grandkids - i don't!
txmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.