Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-23-2012, 10:05 PM   #1
Hal Beatty

Default Brazed? rod journal...

I've been working on gas engines for 50 years now. Everything from Maytags to Merlins and a lot of stuff in between. But, I've never seen anything like this. I'm in the process of tearing down the stock 81A out of my '40. It was a good running engine with no knocks or other problems when I pulled the engine years ago. To put it mildly I was just a little surprised when I pulled the bearings off of the #3 rod journal and found this! Looks like the crank had a bad divot in it and someone brazed the hole up, smoothed it out, put some .002 undersize bearings in and ran it. I'm amazed it never caused any problems as it was my daily driver for a couple of years and I did not baby the motor. Note that the bearings are still in pretty good condition in spite of what the journal looks like. I think the crank is toast... there goes my hopes of a quick and cheap rebuild.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg crank 1.jpg (293.9 KB, 103 views)
File Type: jpg crank 2.jpg (271.9 KB, 110 views)
File Type: jpg bearing 1.jpg (184.4 KB, 91 views)
File Type: jpg bearing 2.jpg (151.5 KB, 83 views)
Hal Beatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:16 PM   #2
Pete

Default Re: Brazed? rod journal...

If the journals are out of round or undersize or both and if it mags ok, regrind it and put it together.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 11:18 PM   #3
J Franklin

If it is not out of round give it a polish and use it. There is nothing wrong with that fix and it may even have been unnecessary.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 02:27 AM   #4
51 MERC-CT

Surprised that someone went to that much trouble to fix something that did not need to be fixed. Just think of the heat required to do the braze.
Old 08-24-2012, 10:32 AM   #5
Hal Beatty