Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-22-2015, 07:29 AM   #1
mlp623

Default KBS vs POR

I am looking to clean-up some chassis parts and have been looking at KBS and POR. They seem to be the same type of systems. Any recommendations for one vs the other?

http://www.kbs-coatings.com/RustSeal.html

http://www.por15.com

Matt
mlp623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 08:03 AM   #2
Dollar Bill

Default Re: KBS vs POR

I have no experience with KBS but have had nothing but outstanding results with POR. It sets up like powder coating.

The KBS description sounds similar to POR and they offer more colors the POR.

You're likely okay with either product.
Old 05-22-2015, 04:48 PM   #3
art ebeling

I used KBS in Galvanize on new and old metal on an Aermotor windmill. At first It was too new looking, but instead of aging well it has started to rust and needs refinished after only five years. I followed the prep instructions as listed by KBS.
art ebeling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 03:23 AM   #4
waxhead

I have used both the POR15 and KBS Rustseal. They are both very similar. Admittedly I only applied them two years ago, but seem to have held up the same. I would recommend both.

Based on my experience, I would go with whichever is cheaper, easier to get, has the colour you are after etc.
waxhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 08:44 PM   #5
Tom Bellfoy

If you use POR 15 it must be applied to a rusty surface. If you apply it to clean metal it will peel off like a sunburn - ask me how I know that
Tom Bellfoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 06:27 AM   #6
aermotor

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)