Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-26-2016, 11:42 PM   #1
Henry's Lady's Man

Default trouble removing starter brushes

My starter brushes' wear are getting close to Les Andrew's recommended replacement. Two brushes are simply bolted to the starter's body (ground), but the two brushes on the ends of the field coils are soldered on. Now, I'm new at soldering, but I've tried a 70watt soldering iron and a thin butane soldering pencil. Neither has gotten this joint hot enough to melt the wire free, and you have to be careful not to burn thru the insulator strip that is against the body, or burn the insulation on the brush's wire.
A friend suggested that some things are copper-soldered and have to be cut off. What advice is out there for this?
(The brushes stick 5/16 beyond the holder; THE BOOK says they don't need replacing if at least 1/4 (4/16) is exposed below the holder. So, "technically", i may still be ok for a while. I don't think these brushes wear fast at all. They may be original. I bought the brushes as I am doing the bushings too.)

Bottom line, I still would like to get these new brushes in, while it's apart. Ideas and advice are welcome.
Old 08-27-2016, 12:19 AM   #2
Y-Blockhead

Default Re: trouble removing starter brushes

You will need a minimum of a 250 watt soldering iron to solder on the brushes.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 12:24 AM   #3
Henry's Lady's Man

Wow! it sounds like these were originally soldered onto the field coils BEFORE assembly of the starter. I will have to remove the field coils to do it right, I suppose.
Old 08-27-2016, 12:46 AM   #4
Y-Blockhead

Except removing the field coils is not as easy as it sounds because the "Contact Button" for the starter switch is soldered on to the field coils also.

Look on ebay for a 250W soldering iron. I got a good used Wen 250W for $29.