Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2018, 09:47 AM   #1
TomballMottershaw
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 74
Default #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

on the engine we just re-sealed ( gasket job )
has 35psi in cylinder #1 and 55PSI in the other 3.
we added oil to #1 and re-tested the compression, it rose to 50psi.

besides a drop in power,
are there any short term issues with having it like this ?

We are trying to get the car in the 4th of July parade, the radiator is good, along with the rest of the drive line ?

after this we will replace the pistons.
standard bore size. ( sleeved )
TomballMottershaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 10:30 AM   #2
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,520
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

New rings trying to seal?

Water bubbling in radiator top? If water in cylinder not a good thing. Chipped valve?
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-25-2018, 10:36 AM   #3
TomballMottershaw
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 74
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

thanks,
good questions:

re Q1: --> no water bubbling up in Radiator

re Q2.) not a chipped valve as they looked good when we had the head off.
but some sort of valve sealing issue is possible.

-------
I'll do a cylinder leak test next.

But I omitted the puffs of smoke from the oil filler tube tube a low idle speed.

this is why I think it's the rings / Cylinder wall leak.
TomballMottershaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 10:36 AM   #4
BRENT in 10-uh-C
Senior Member
 
BRENT in 10-uh-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern Tennessee
Posts: 8,137
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Short term, won't hurt a thing providing it is not a valve leaking. At that point, it can likely hurt a valve seat.
__________________
.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
.
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

.
BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 10:47 AM   #5
Jim Brierley
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 2,491
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Adding oil seals the rings, does nothing to/for the valves.
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 10:54 AM   #6
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 4,351
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

If it hasn't been started it could just be debris on the valve seat that will leave after it is running
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 11:34 AM   #7
DHZIEMAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunrise Beach, Mo
Posts: 184
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomballMottershaw View Post
thanks,
good questions:

re Q1: --> no water bubbling up in Radiator

re Q2.) not a chipped valve as they looked good when we had the head off.
but some sort of valve sealing issue is possible.

-------
I'll do a cylinder leak test next.

But I omitted the puffs of smoke from the oil filler tube tube a low idle speed.

this is why I think it's the rings / Cylinder wall leak.
If something did not get under the valves on #1, then, I would venture before new gaskets the compression was 35lbs on #1 and it was puffing smoke out the breather. If not, you need to do more investigation. If something got under the valves in doing the gaskets, then it may work out. To me the tip off in your words is when you oil the cylinder, the pressure rises to 50. That sounds like rings. puffing smoke out the oil breather further enforces the notion of bad rings on #1! Can you ident if it was puffing smoke out the breather before the gasket work?
DHZIEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 02:25 PM   #8
TomballMottershaw
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 74
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Thank you DHZIEMAN & All,

the engine we re-sealed for a swap was a "used" engine, the history we know it ran before it was removed, but rarely does one just remove a "perfect" engine.
so we knew there was risk of some issue, this why we pulled the head etc.

I'll pressure up #1 @TDC and see if I can hear where it's leaking later tomorrow.
TomballMottershaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 07:13 PM   #9
asbrock
Junior Member
 
asbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomballMottershaw View Post
Thank you DHZIEMAN & All,

the engine we re-sealed for a swap was a "used" engine, the history we know it ran before it was removed, but rarely does one just remove a "perfect" engine.
so we knew there was risk of some issue, this why we pulled the head etc.

I'll pressure up #1 @TDC and see if I can hear where it's leaking later tomorrow.

Hehe


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
asbrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 07:19 AM   #10
chap52
Senior Member
 
chap52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Marana Arizona
Posts: 1,164
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Do you have a way to pressurize #1 with air. If you have a n air fitting that will go in the sparkplug hole (leak down of compression tester type) Place #1 at TDC, pump about 10# of air in the cylinder. If you can hear air escaping out the tail pipe, ex. valve, through the carb, int valve. If you can't hear it escaping at all probably rings. Kinda "shade tree" but us country folks have country ways. Chap
chap52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 07:48 AM   #11
Keith True
Senior Member
 
Keith True's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Epping N.H.
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

I don't think I would do any more testing until I put some serious run time on it.Under a load,not just sitting in the yard.Having worked on old tractors and equipment all my life it is something I have seen a lot of.People will put oil in the cylinders of something that is going to sit,then the winter turns into years.As the Kendall oil rep put it to me,that oil turns into asphalt in the piston rings.It will wash with run time.I have a Ferguson-Ford here that the owner tried to do a leakdown test on.It would hold nothing.After about 40 hours of mowing it runs good,and will hold at least some pressure.
Keith True is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 10:37 PM   #12
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 26,976
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

Sea Foam is a great product for engine problems. I've only used it twice and it did wonders both times. About 1980 I added a can to the oil to free up stuck hydraulic lifters, and within 5 miles, the engine was quiet as new. Two months ago I added a can to the gas to help a carb running like crap. Within 20 miles the engine ran smooth as can be.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 04:31 PM   #13
western77
Senior Member
 
western77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Mi
Posts: 156
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

I fixed a model a engine with 10 psi in one cylinder and 0 in another. Still ran but no power! He had just gone one a one hundred tour with it. It was the valves.
western77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 10:45 AM   #14
TomballMottershaw
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 74
Default Re: #1 cylinder has 36psi compression

We got this resolved last night.
it seems the valve adjustment on cylinder #1 was not properly done, and they were slightly open...( no tapet clearance ) should be closed., we re-adjusted the #1 cylinder valve clearances and all is working well. I will see if I still have the Puffs of smoke from the oil filler tube, once we test drive and get the rest of the bits put back together.

compression test is back at 55PSI. ( stock head )
TomballMottershaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.