Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2015, 01:37 PM   #1
SofaKing
Senior Member
 
SofaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 756
Default 1939 ammeter connection photo

Hey all, I could use some help with an ammeter photo. I have mine out and it has 2 fewer connections than anticipated. It has none, anyone have a photo of how the wires attach? Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (35.2 KB, 106 views)
SofaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 01:40 PM   #2
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,543
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Quote:
Originally Posted by SofaKing View Post
Hey all, I could use some help with an ammeter photo. I have mine out and it has 2 fewer connections than anticipated. It has none, anyone have a photo of how the wires attach? Thanks!
Looks like there should be an induction loop that a single wire passes thru.
This should be a single 10ga. wire that runs from the gen./regulator thru the loop and directly to the battery side of the solenoid.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg loop.jpg (41.5 KB, 31 views)
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES

Last edited by 51 MERC-CT; 01-04-2015 at 02:08 PM.
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-04-2015, 01:40 PM   #3
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,486
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

The wire just passes through the clip. No connections.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 01:46 PM   #4
Walt Dupont--Me.
Senior Member
 
Walt Dupont--Me.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gardiner Me.
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

It goes through the loop, if it goes through the wrong way it will show discharge. Walt
Walt Dupont--Me. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:17 PM   #5
SofaKing
Senior Member
 
SofaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 756
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Thanks gentlemen, I didn't see that coming. I may get the cluster working after all. Sometime in the past someone drilled the dash full of holes for gauges and I want weld in plugs and use the factory gauges.
SofaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 03:39 PM   #6
OLD...BILL
Senior Member
 
OLD...BILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern California,coast
Posts: 552
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Hey sofa: Your 39 should have a VOLT meter not an ampemeter , if your car is a deluxe and some later standard had the volt meter. try to find a cluster with a volt meter. its what your 39 should have,,,,, by the book and worth it, and it show the condition of the battery..... OLD....BILL

Last edited by OLD...BILL; 01-04-2015 at 03:43 PM. Reason: corect typo and add a note
OLD...BILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 06:18 PM   #7
Drbrown
Senior Member
 
Drbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glens Falls NY
Posts: 1,230
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

2 x OLD...BILL Functionally, I understand a volt meter best-shows the condition of the Batt and electrical system, as opposed to an amp meter. Wiring different but not complicated .... A Volt meter has two threaded stud terminals. One goes to ground and one to the electrical system (preferably to the system side of the starter solenoid for best reading of Batt condition. If meter dial indicator reads reverse, reverse the connections.
Drbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 07:07 PM   #8
Bill OH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 146
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

If voltmeter is connected to the solenoid, the voltmeter will continue to draw down the battery when the motor is off - connect the voltmeter to the load side of the ignition switch.
Bill OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 09:10 PM   #9
SofaKing
Senior Member
 
SofaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 756
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD...BILL View Post
Hey sofa: Your 39 should have a VOLT meter not an ampemeter , if your car is a deluxe and some later standard had the volt meter. try to find a cluster with a volt meter. its what your 39 should have,,,,, by the book and worth it, and it show the condition of the battery..... OLD....BILL
Thanks for the input. It is a pick-up truck, not car, I am not sure what it is supposed to have but it came with an ammeter. Judging from the previous comments the car cluster is not the same as the truck cluster? In any case, I really appreciate the help.
SofaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 11:50 PM   #10
Drbrown
Senior Member
 
Drbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glens Falls NY
Posts: 1,230
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Bill OH .... Thanks for picking up on my error re connection
Drbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 03:54 PM   #11
OLD...BILL
Senior Member
 
OLD...BILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern California,coast
Posts: 552
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Quote:
Originally Posted by SofaKing View Post
Thanks for the input. It is a pick-up truck, not car, I am not sure what it is supposed to have but it came with an ammeter. Judging from the previous comments the car cluster is not the same as the truck cluster? In any case, I really appreciate the help.
I think your right the truck has an amp-meter and is a brown face, or at least the one I have here is that way ... if your need parts I have a nice one, pay for shipping and It's yours ............OLD.........BILL
OLD...BILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 07:48 PM   #12
Bill OH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 146
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

DR Brown - Your welcome.
Bill OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 07:51 PM   #13
Bill OH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 146
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Drbrown - Your welcome.
Bill OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 11:01 PM   #14
SofaKing
Senior Member
 
SofaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 756
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD...BILL View Post
I think your right the truck has an amp-meter and is a brown face, or at least the one I have here is that way ... if your need parts I have a nice one, pay for shipping and It's yours ............OLD.........BILL
Old Bill, I sent you a private message, (hopefully). Thanks!
SofaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:38 AM   #15
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,730
Default Re: 1939 ammeter connection photo

my 39 peeekup has a voltmeter. I dunno if the gauges are original as the background's don't match. I have a cutout.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.