Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2019, 07:38 AM   #1
Habusailor
Senior Member
 
Habusailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Fargo North Dakota
Posts: 146
Default Pertronics

I might have had a wiring situation where I blew out my pertronic on my 49 ford. Is there a way to test the unit to see if it is still working? Starter spins over well but no spark. 6 volt positive ground, flamethrower coil. I get about 4.5 volts to the coil. Car ran great, yesterday I reinstalled the old radio took power from the ignition switch radio worked, car started and ran great for about 2 minutes. Died and now no spark.?.

Sent from my SM-T550 using Tapatalk
Habusailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:06 AM   #2
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 4,821
Default Re: Pertronics

I'm afraid the title of the thread tells it all.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-07-2019, 08:13 AM   #3
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,495
Default Re: Pertronics

At least it didn't strand you at the side of the road.
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:32 AM   #4
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,770
Default Re: Pertronics

Do you use a ballast resistor on a Pertronix?

Last edited by JSeery; 05-07-2019 at 11:35 AM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:39 AM   #5
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,495
Default Re: Pertronics

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
Do you use a ballast resistor on a pertronics?

No--I was told to bypass it when I used a Pertronix conversion some years ago. Have since returned to points with no regrets. As they say, "Points will get you home."
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:59 AM   #6
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,770
Default Re: Pertronics

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4dFord/SC View Post
No--I was told to bypass it when I used a Pertronix conversion some years ago. Have since returned to points with no regrets. As they say, "Points will get you home."
That's what I was thinking, so don't understand the 4.5v at the coil. I would think it should be 6 to 7 volts.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:07 AM   #7
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,272
Default Re: Pertronics

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habusailor View Post
Is there a way to test the unit to see if it is still working?
I don't know how to test it, but I had a coil go bad and burned up a pertronix that had ran well for 10-12 years. I didn't know it was the coil, so I bought another Pertronix and the coil promptly burned it up. I called the tech line, they asked me if the unit had a brown/burned spot on the label. It did, so they cautioned me about the coil. I bought their coil and they replaced the Pertronix. I never had another problem till I sold the car after another 10 or so years.
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:24 AM   #8
Habusailor
Senior Member
 
Habusailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Fargo North Dakota
Posts: 146
Default Re: Pertronics

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
That's what I was thinking, so don't understand the 4.5v at the coil. I would think it should be 6 to 7 volts.


4dford that’s what I was thinking, could I have a bad ignition switch? It seems to work well every time I turn on the switch the amp meter shows a bit of discharge


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Habusailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:42 AM   #9
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,495
Default Re: Pertronics

Try jumping the coil straight from the battery to see if it makes a difference.
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 11:32 AM   #10
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,770
Default Re: Pertronics

You can also check the voltage into the ignition switch and out of the ignition switch. There should be very little to no voltage drop.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 12:17 PM   #11
TomT/Williamsburg
Senior Member
 
TomT/Williamsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Pertronics

It just might be your coil. I always use a ballast resistor with a Pertronivs ignition - had conversations with Bubba’s about my problem a few years sgo and we came to the conclusion to use a ballast resistor so as not to burn up coils.
TomT/Williamsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 12:43 PM   #12
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,770
Default Re: Pertronics

Tom, 6v or 12v?
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 01:01 PM   #13
Habusailor
Senior Member
 
Habusailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Fargo North Dakota
Posts: 146
Default Re: Pertronics

Tom 6 volt pos ground. I ran a jumper directly from the battery to the coil still nothing. With the cap off I checked to see that the rotor turned do not the distribution shaft or gear. Followed Pertronics trouble shooting guide, electro ic unit checks out ok coil shows the correct resistance. Not sure what my next step is??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Habusailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 04:22 PM   #14
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,495
Default Re: Pertronics

Try another coil.
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:52 PM   #15
fordor41
Senior Member
 
fordor41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: elmira,ny
Posts: 783
Default Re: Pertronics

Contact Pertronix and they'll send you a sheet telling you how to test your coil and what readings you should have.
fordor41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 12:16 AM   #16
TomT/Williamsburg
Senior Member
 
TomT/Williamsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Pertronics

Sorry, I should have been clearer in my prior post - I am 12v neg ground. I apologize .....
TomT/Williamsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 02:30 AM   #17
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,436
Default Re: Pertronics

Start by unhooking and loading the wire coming from ignition with a big bulb like a headlight bulb...measure voltage...if you get 4.5v you have a bad ignition switch or connection.
When you hooked up stuff under the dash you might have moved things around...or you added to much load burrning the contact points in the switch.
A pertronics won´t be happy on 4.5v !!
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 10:57 AM   #18
JimNNN
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 88
Default Re: Pertronics

I talked with Pertronics the other day. They were pretty adamant about using a coil that's 1.5 ohms across the coil terminals in my 12 volt application. That's for the "Ignitor" version.
JimNNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 04:27 PM   #19
Habusailor
Senior Member
 
Habusailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Fargo North Dakota
Posts: 146
Default Re: Pertronics

Flathead in response to your reply about low voltage I had the same thought, but I hooked the coil directly to the coil, battery was at 6.5 volts still nothing


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Habusailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 10:14 PM   #20
Drbrown
Senior Member
 
Drbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glens Falls NY
Posts: 1,230
Default Re: Pertronics

Bubba's can test your unit. The Pentronix units are extremely sensitive to voltage spikes. I ran a Pentronix unit for years then they started to fail. Pentronix told me 14.8 volts max. Bubba and I could not figure out what was causing the failures. I burned out 3 of those pricey units and finally had Charlie NY put together and test run a stock distributor with points. Been fine ever since .... and a lot cheaper.
Drbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.