Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2017, 10:41 AM   #1
GOSFAST
Senior Member
 
GOSFAST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 861
Default Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Using Win XP and Mozilla for browser, as of this morning keep getting "404 Not Found" error message??

Am presently using different computer to login!

Thanks, Gary in N.Y.

P.S. Just curious anyone else having any issues in this area??
GOSFAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 10:46 AM   #2
JM 35 Sedan
Senior Member
 
JM 35 Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Near Rising Sun, Maryland
Posts: 9,728
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Just googled Fordbarn and clicked on forum and got on using my cell phone. Can't get on using my normal bookmark link.
__________________
John

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than one with all the facts". Albert Einstein
JM 35 Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-30-2017, 10:57 AM   #3
B-O-B
Senior Member
 
B-O-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ft Mohave,Az
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

I keep it in my favorites & just click on it & here I wuz no problems
B-O-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:19 AM   #4
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,462
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-O-B View Post
I keep it in my favorites & just click on it & here I wuz no problems
What are you using for a browser?
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:33 AM   #5
marko
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 77
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

i have been having the same problem to. using modzilla, every 4th attempt i'm able to get in
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:44 AM   #6
Bill
Senior Member
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 367
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

My 404 notice said it was a security certificate issue. Outage lasted less than an hour. Probably a vapor lock issue...
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:48 AM   #7
TJ
Senior Member
 
TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Napa,California
Posts: 3,944
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post
My 404 notice said it was a security certificate issue. Outage lasted less than an hour. Probably a vapor lock issue...
Got the same message. Finally got on. Is it the Russians again? ROFL
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 12:24 PM   #8
Darrell S
Senior Member
 
Darrell S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 230
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Global warming or climate change is causing the Russians to do this.
Darrell S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 12:45 PM   #9
50fordcoupeman
Senior Member
 
50fordcoupeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: LaGrande Oregon
Posts: 487
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Darrell.................I think you are right. A protest should correct this
50fordcoupeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:00 PM   #10
dwaynec
Senior Member
 
dwaynec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 169
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

With Safari I got a certificate error. Probably just a certificate that expired. Must have gotten fixed or updated as I am not getting the error anymore.
__________________
Dwayne

Last edited by dwaynec; 06-30-2017 at 01:00 PM. Reason: Fixed typo.
dwaynec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:03 PM   #11
BUBBAS IGNITION
Senior Member
 
BUBBAS IGNITION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SPEEDWAY INDIANA
Posts: 3,752
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

i THINK IT WAS A CONDENSOR SHORTED.....WORKING FINE THIS AFTERNOON....
__________________
If it Makes Spark, we do it !!!!
www.bubbasignition.com
jimlinder@juno.com
BUBBAS IGNITION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:37 PM   #12
Seth Swoboda
Senior Member
 
Seth Swoboda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,679
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

[QUOTE=BUBBAS IGNITION;1492717]i THINK IT WAS A CONDENSOR SHORTED.....WORKING FINE THIS AFTERNOON....[/QUOTE

Are you saying fordbarn won't start? I'ts running Skips coil and Bubbas crab distributor. I've checked everything and all it does it backfire and no start!!
Seth Swoboda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:17 PM   #13
Vintage Copper 47
Senior Member
 
Vintage Copper 47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: The sleepy San Fernando Valley
Posts: 394
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Quote:
Originally Posted by GOSFAST View Post
Using Win XP and Mozilla for browser, as of this morning keep getting "404 Not Found" error message??

Am presently using different computer to login!

Thanks, Gary in N.Y.

P.S. Just curious anyone else having any issues in this area??
Still happening.. I had to find an old saved thread to get in.. just now!
__________________
WALT

"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".

"Old enough for the experience & too young to know better"
Vintage Copper 47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:27 PM   #14
RalphG
Senior Member
 
RalphG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Its ok now (noon) but earlier this morning I got the "not safe site" warning and it would not open. There was a link to click on to go back to safe site yeah right. Probably spammers. Using google chrome.
RalphG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:34 PM   #15
48fordnut
Senior Member
 
48fordnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: warner robins ga 31088
Posts: 418
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Ryan said they were working on the servers.
48fordnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 07:55 PM   #16
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 6,927
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Nope, that's what I'm uzing
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 09:55 PM   #17
GB SISSON
Senior Member
 
GB SISSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orcas Island Washington
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

I run my laptop on 6v positive ground. It turns over a bit slower than most, but always starts. The worst part is with the vacuum keyboard and the speed of it when I'm typing uphill, which is pretty much the only way I type these days....
__________________
'47 1/2 ton pickup next project, '47 one ton panel 99% stock nearing completion, '47 2 ton with 8ba and 9' script stakebed, '46 1/2 ton woodie project,'59 F350 9' flareside pickup with cummins 6at. 'Rusty ol' floorboards, hot on their feet' (Alan Jackson)
GB SISSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 08:07 AM   #18
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,125
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB SISSON View Post
I run my laptop on 6v positive ground. It turns over a bit slower than most, but always starts. The worst part is with the vacuum keyboard and the speed of it when I'm typing uphill, which is pretty much the only way I type these days....
Check your ground connections and make sure you're running heavy enough cables!
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 04:00 PM   #19
Cool Hand Lurker
Senior Member
 
Cool Hand Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Minn
Posts: 1,443
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB SISSON View Post
I run my laptop on 6v positive ground. It turns over a bit slower than most, but always starts. The worst part is with the vacuum keyboard and the speed of it when I'm typing uphill, which is pretty much the only way I type these days....
If you have trouble typing uphill, try typing in reverse..........
Cool Hand Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 09:39 AM   #20
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 2,083
Default Re: Forum Isuue=Possibly??

Definitely low compression and a weak starter . . . time for a rebuild!

XP = Nightmare: Actually you should really consider getting off of XP - as it is a 'hackers dream' as far as virus', etc.. This is the reason why Europe and 3rd World countries get hit really hard with new global virus releases (as they're not up to date in many cases).

Recommendation: Try to get to Window 10 with all the latest security patches, set it up for auto-updates and get a GOOD virus protection package like 'Bit Defender'.

If Stuck on XP: Also, Microsoft stopped updates for XP in 2014, but recently released a set of emergency updates to help prevent some of the globally destructive 'ransomware' attacks for infecting XP. At the very least - apply these updates.
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.