Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2015, 06:42 AM   #1
Bruce of MN
Senior Member
 
Bruce of MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 652
Default New Emergency Brake Bands

In the axle shims thread, grinding metal off of the toggle link brackets was mentioned. My new bands are too big in diameter to slip the drum over. It appeared that the backing plate lug between the toggle link brackets was not helping in that area. I ground away some from the toggle link brackets, but apparently not enough. I stopped in order to avoid making the part into junk. Is this a common modification to make to make them fit and I should grind off more? If it is common, I don't mind doing it, since it is easy, as opposed to returning them and searching for bands that fit right away.
Bruce of MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 07:07 AM   #2
Hook
Senior Member
 
Hook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities Suburbs
Posts: 105
Default Re: New Emergency Brake Bands

I had the same problem, and considered turning the drums. Guys on the Barn informed me some of the bands sold by the vendors are too thick, and suggested grinding down the lining on the band. Since the emergency brake on the A is intended for parking only, it won't get much wear over the years. It worked for me and the parking brake works great.
__________________
1930 Pickup in Prior Lake, MN
Hook is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-21-2015, 09:04 AM   #3
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,442
Default Re: New Emergency Brake Bands

There is a right and wrong side of the band to fit against the carrier. Be sure the correct side faces the carrier. Also make sure the parking brake lever is full off. It should never be neccessary to grind on original parts. As Hook mentioned, the lining may be too thick and you can then use a belt sander to thin it. That's what I had to do for a 1930 AA.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 04:39 PM   #4
Bruce of MN
Senior Member
 
Bruce of MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 652
Default Re: New Emergency Brake Bands

Thanks, I'll check on the right & left difference. The thickness of the metal on the new part between the toggle hole and the part that bears on the carrier is a bit more than the old part.
Bruce of MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 04:55 PM   #5
SteveB31
Senior Member
 
SteveB31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: New Emergency Brake Bands

You should never have to grind the toggle links. Make sure you have the band on correctly, and take a couple minutes and taper with a file, the outer edge of the lining. This often will allow the drum to slide on, as they can "catch" on the edge of the shoe lining if it is left not tapered.

I have never used the new metal bands, so cannot comment on that part, but I suspect the problem is either the shoes being on backwards, or the outer edge catching on the drum.
SteveB31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:26 PM   #6
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,442
Default Re: New Emergency Brake Bands

Here's a picture of the last brake job I did. The bracket where the toggle links are attached are raised up for the toggles. In other words, the toggle end is closer to the outside of the car, while the lower part of the bracket rests on the carrier plate.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Brake LR1930.jpg (90.2 KB, 51 views)
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.