Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2019, 03:05 PM   #1
Ak Sourdough
Junior Member
 
Ak Sourdough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 11
Default Model A Volt Meter

Does anyone know of a volt meter made for 6 volt + ground systems that will fit the Model A panel and look vintage?
Ak Sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 04:50 PM   #2
Bill Pursel
Member
 
Bill Pursel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Posts: 77
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

Macs and Snyders sells replacements for the Model A
Bill Pursel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-21-2019, 06:15 PM   #3
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,190
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

Volt or amp ?
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 10:50 AM   #4
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 512
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

These are for T (negative ground), FP doesn't make them for the A.

http://www.funprojects.com/products/5016-Voltmeter.aspx

Maybe contact them and see if they can be connected for pos. ground. I would say it's possible, if the housing is isolated.

Also, idk if T and A are same size.

Last edited by Badpuppy; 10-22-2019 at 11:01 AM.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 10:56 AM   #5
alexiskai
Senior Member
 
alexiskai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mebane NC
Posts: 324
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

Wouldn't you just reverse the leads for positive ground? Volts are volts.
alexiskai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 01:24 AM   #6
Ak Sourdough
Junior Member
 
Ak Sourdough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 11
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

Thanks badpuppy, that might work. I'll contact them and see if they'll give me the diameter and depth. I might be able to attach that big flange to the back of my panel with some thick gooey double sticky tape, that stuff is wonderful. I like the face.



Alexiskai, yes, switching the leads should make it work on either ground system. I read their installation instructions and the illustration shows + and - terminals on the back so the case is not involved.


Thanks guys, anyone else have any ideas?
Ak Sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 02:02 AM   #7
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 4,619
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

As was said volts is volts, don't mater if 6, 12. As long as the meter is made for more then the highest output from the source.

google search;
https://www.google.com/search?client...volt+meter+car


The meters shown are going to be bigger then stock A meter. The depth should be ok if mounted on the face of the instrument panel like the A, but the diameter of the face is larger and flange even more so. I don't have one in front of me and it's too late to go out to the shop a check.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 11:23 AM   #8
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 512
Default Re: Model A Volt Meter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ak Sourdough View Post
I read their installation instructions and the illustration shows + and - terminals on the back so the case is not involved.
Quite probably true, but verify with them for sure. If the case is common with the (-) terminal you could get a shower of sparks. And dash depth is limited - the unit may not fit entirely behind the bezel.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.