Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2018, 05:36 PM   #1
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Directional Light Switch

I have a Signal - Stat 0900 Sigflare signal switch in my Model A and it will activate the directional lights but not the light on the switch itself. It has worked fine for a long while but recently stopped. I replace the bulb in ther switch itself but remains inoperable. I rechecked the light bulb and find the old one and the new one to be good.

I checked the ground and find it acceptable.

Any ideas on what could be the problem.

Thanks for the help.

Bob
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 07:51 PM   #2
JOHN CT
Senior Member
 
JOHN CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In my garage
Posts: 411
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I had the same problem with my stat 0900 after farting around I found it was the ground. Where are you grounding the switch? If it’s a good grounding spot just make sure it’s clean down the the metal. If you think it’s clean clean it again!!
__________________
31 Tudor
66 Bonneville
57 Chevy pickup 27 T roadster pick up
JOHN CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-15-2018, 08:28 PM   #3
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 4,615
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

^ correct, the unit must be grounded to the column or other place.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 08:34 PM   #4
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I wil recheck the ground tomorrow. I put an alligator clip on the unit and attached the other end to the frame. I will play with ground again tomorrow.

Thanks for the response.

Bob
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 12:04 AM   #5
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 4,615
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

Other thing, are you using a 3 terminal flasher unit. Two terminal types are not made for this application.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 12:19 AM   #6
denniskliesen
Senior Member
 
denniskliesen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 710
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

When I rebuilt my steering column I had the same problem. I took the clamp loose and scratched a small spot of paint off and held a short piece of .025" solder between the column and clamp and tightened it all up. Indicator light now works again.
denniskliesen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 10:17 AM   #7
jrelliott
Senior Member
 
jrelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pine, AZ
Posts: 654
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I installed a ground wire from the switch to a known good ground and ran the wire in the harness. The switch itself is insulated from the steering column to prevent damaging the paint if anyone wants to return to original.
jrelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 10:54 AM   #8
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

Thanks for the inputs. I will take another look at grounding today.
Will post results.

Thanks
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 02:25 PM   #9
Dick M
Senior Member
 
Dick M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: hidden valley lake, ca
Posts: 316
Send a message via Yahoo to Dick M
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I ran a ground wire from the screw for the clamp to the steering column bracket. Just loosen the steering column bracket enough to slide the ground wire between the clamps. I mounted the unit close to the dash on the column. It is a short distance for the ground wire. Works great.
Dick M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 02:32 PM   #10
MikeK
Senior Member
 
MikeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windy City
Posts: 2,821
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

There are three terminals on the flasher: X (battery) L (load) and P (pilot lamp). With the signal unit on and signal lamps flashing put a volt meter between ground and the P terminal. It should pulse between zero and battery voltage. If it does not the flasher unit has failed and needs replacement. If it does the problem is with the pilot lamp and its grounding.
__________________
Mechanical engineering 101: If you put an adjustment knob, screw, bolt, or tolerance specs on something, some people will immediately fiddle with it. If you mark it DO NOT TOUCH everyone will mess with it.
MikeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 07:48 PM   #11
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I replaced the flasher and the light on the column is still not flashing . I removed the switching unit and reinstalled it making sure it is grounded and it is.
Tomorrow I will open the switch up and check for evidence of corrosion in the bulb socket.
This has got me baffled for what I thought would be a simple problem.
I checked the terminal board connections on the firewall with a light and it will light a circuit tester light. I am thinking about hooking a buzzer to that so I can hear it when the flasher is on.

The directional lights on the vehicle work it is just that I have no way to confirm they are off.

Thanks for all the input

Bob
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 04:35 PM   #12
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,180
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

If the "arm" (stalk) is in the middle position they are off.
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 10:10 AM   #13
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I revisited my ongoing issue of the light on the switch not working and have come to the conclusion that the problem is within the switch itself. The wiring in the harness does contain a pulsing signal but it does not present at the bulb. Not wanting to disassemble the,switch itself i am going to install a buzzer under the dash that will signal when directional lights are on.
Thanks for all of your inputs.

Bob
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 10:28 AM   #14
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,098
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

Are you sure that the bulb is a 6V bulb, and not a 12V bulb?
Even if it is a 6V bulb, it may not be reacting fast enough to the "pulse", then you would need to find a different # bulb that will work.
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 11:16 AM   #15
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I have a 12 volt system and a 12 volt bulb. When I check the bulb socket I have no voltage.

Thanks for your response.

Bob
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 06:27 PM   #16
Bob Grieb
Senior Member
 
Bob Grieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Bob Grieb
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

I finally resolved the problem with my flasher unit.
What started out to be what appeared to be burned out light bulb turned out to be as bad connection.
When the flasher unit was originally installed a terminal strip was used. As a last effort to resolve my issue before resulting to the use of a buzzer I downloaded a schematic of the switch installation. I then checked every termination and found a loose termination that was not apparent thru visual examination. The wire to the flasher unit "X" terminal was loose/open. The unit had worked since I purchased the car and it was never a problem until now.

Thanks for all the input.

Bob
__________________
1929 Tudor
1930 Pickup
Bob Grieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 09:55 AM   #17
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,098
Default Re: Directional Light Switch

Good to hear that you found the problem.
Thanks for the update.
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.