Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2019, 05:16 PM   #1
mit31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 19
Default 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

I have a 1937 21 stud (pump in block) V8, with '42 V8 radiator hoses. How the heck do you keep the stant type thermostats from being pushed up into the radiator hoses? I searched around on here, as well as Jalopy journal, and could not find any real answers, except one guy that tied thin copper wire to his stat, and ran the wire down the hose neck so it got pinched by the hose clamp.


I am not interested in the bellows type that goes in the upper hose area. There has to be a solution that people have been using. The only thing I can think of is a hose clamp above the stat, but I have not seen that on cars here. Ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4919.jpg (76.1 KB, 69 views)
mit31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 05:23 PM   #2
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

I drill two small holes in the water necks opposite of each other close to the top. Then do the same on the flange of the thermostats. Then use a fine piece of stainless welding wire and wire them down to the water necks then reinstall the hose.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-01-2019, 05:32 PM   #3
FlatheadTed
Senior Member
 
FlatheadTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 4,073
Send a message via AIM to FlatheadTed
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Just another option .Mig a 2" section of ss tube to the flange on the stat then use a hose clamp ,any leakage will affect the function a 1/8 hole needs to be in the flange to slowly vent the cold water, to run Stats you need a good core that provides excess cooling ,so at idol it holds it below 200
__________________
http://www.flatheadted.com

Last edited by FlatheadTed; 02-06-2019 at 01:27 AM.
FlatheadTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 05:43 PM   #4
34PKUP
Senior Member
 
34PKUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 639
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlatheadTed View Post
Just another option .Mig a 2" section of ss tube to the flange on the stat then use a hose clamp ,any leakage will affect the function a 1/8 hole needs to be in the flange to slowly vent the cold water, to run States you need a good core that provides excess cooling ,so at idol it holds it below 200
Would be interesting to see the results of someone trying to Mig weld a section of S.S. tube to the brass flange of a thermostat
34PKUP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 07:19 PM   #5
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,545
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

The only ones I remember with an anchor have not been made for years

__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 09:00 PM   #6
Jack E/NJ
Senior Member
 
Jack E/NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,618
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

mit31>>>The only thing I can think of is a hose clamp above the stat>>>

Can you only think of the easiest, fastest & simplest way to solve this problem? 8^) Jack E/NJ
Jack E/NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 09:16 PM   #7
petehoovie
Senior Member
 
petehoovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,173
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

See this thread > https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...ermostat+place





__________________
The only thing nice about being imperfect is the joy it brings to others....

"Silver rings, your butt! Them's washers! Damn!"
"We shot our way out of that town for a dollar's worth of steel holes." - from 'The Wild Bunch' - 1969
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NReUd2_0u0


Last edited by petehoovie; 02-01-2019 at 09:32 PM.
petehoovie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 09:20 PM   #8
philipswanson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Bonita, CA
Posts: 932
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Clean the water necks at their top surface and apply some JB Weld to them around the top edges. Put some around the flange of each thermostat in the contact area. Carefully center the thermostats in place and push down. Let harden over night. You are good to go.
philipswanson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 09:41 PM   #9
TonyM
Senior Member
 
TonyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Hammond, Illinois
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Mine were flipping in the hose. I think some one on FordBarn suggested using a second clamp to hold the thermostat in place. This is what I did. No more problem.


(John Mason: that is the original 1937 air cleaner you sold me.)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1519526_539813086154533_2502643182049443256_o.jpg (78.5 KB, 73 views)
TonyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 08:04 AM   #10
51woodie
Senior Member
 
51woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Chelmsford, ON Canada
Posts: 126
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

There was a post on here or on the Early Ford V8 site, where someone described inserting a short (1" +/-) piece of rad hose that fits tight into the top hose where it connects to the engine, and inserting it the depth equal to the distance that the hose will go over the spigot on the head. I did this on my '46, and all was good when I pulled the hoses this fall to check if the stats had moved. NAPA sells the Gates hose by the foot, but I can't remember the part number. I'll post it if I find it.
51woodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 10:37 AM   #11
Gary in La.
Senior Member
 
Gary in La.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

I solder 3 small (3/16" wide) brass shim stock tabs equidistant around the top flange of the thermostat. Bend them down to fit around the water neck and clamp hose as usual. Have never had any movement or leaks.


This procedure is for the modern type thermostats that go in the head water neck. Only requires the 1 clamp as per original configuration.

Last edited by Gary in La.; 02-03-2019 at 03:15 PM. Reason: clarification
Gary in La. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 11:20 AM   #12
barnfind08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 797
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Why does this happen? Are the hose diameters to large. Stock hoses fit nice and tight on heads then narrow down till they come to the radiator where they get larger to fit on the radiator.
barnfind08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 11:41 AM   #13
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,194
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnfind08 View Post
Why does this happen? Are the hose diameters to large. Stock hoses fit nice and tight on heads then narrow down till they come to the radiator where they get larger to fit on the radiator.
The arrangement was never intended for the modern style thermostats?
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 05:13 PM   #14
A bones
Senior Member
 
A bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: CLAYTON DE
Posts: 894
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

I thought the best way was stated in the past. Source some PVC white pipe that will just fit inside the hose. Slice off about an inch and a half. Insert it into the hose enough to start it onto the outlet. Set the stat in place, using two clamps secure the hose and the PVC piece to the outlet. The second clamp will cinch the PVC in place preventing movement of the stat.

Try to use white. Black drain pipe ( I was told ) is not for hot water.
__________________
Enjoy yer day. Tom
Hate can't fix what it started.
A bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 11:46 PM   #15
RalphM
Senior Member
 
RalphM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 2,162
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Mine keep moving, I plan to take them out and braze some copper pipe to them. Should do the trick.

PS. Love to find a set of those with the anchor as 51 Merc posted.
RalphM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 03:39 AM   #16
aussie merc
Senior Member
 
aussie merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: sydney australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

been there changed the hoses to a stainless pipe kit from drakes problem solved added bonus dosn't look to bad either
aussie merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 12:02 PM   #17
Scotty's 52 F3
Senior Member
 
Scotty's 52 F3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Marana, AZ.
Posts: 264
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

Gary, I like your shim stock tab idea.
Scotty's 52 F3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 01:11 PM   #18
Drbrown
Senior Member
 
Drbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glens Falls NY
Posts: 1,230
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

51woodie describes what I did. Smaller size piece of radiator hose inside the stock hose - got a piece at NAPA. Glued it inside to the (dry) stock hose with rubber cement. Been years and no problem. It does not inhibit the coolant flow and I can change the stats quickly without any fuss.
Drbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 01:46 PM   #19
FlatheadTed
Senior Member
 
FlatheadTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 4,073
Send a message via AIM to FlatheadTed
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

There's some good ideas put up ,(I suggest )if you use the shim tab idea or wire make sure the 2nd hose clamp goes around the flange so there's no leakage past the inside,a modern thermostat is sealed with a gasket or rubber ring ,you can solder braze or weld depending on the type .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FordBarn Thermostate 001.jpg (91.8 KB, 37 views)
__________________
http://www.flatheadted.com
FlatheadTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 10:37 PM   #20
kiwitony
Senior Member
 
kiwitony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Whangaparaoa New Zealand
Posts: 253
Default Re: 37 V8 - Thermostat anchor??

To answer barnfind08s question the original hoses did have a good distinctive step in them to hold the thermostat down. the new repro hoses are too big and allow the thermostats to move or tip. I use two hose clamps, but it does look ugly. Cheers Tony.
kiwitony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.