Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2020, 03:36 PM   #1
Old Newbie
Member
 
Old Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cranberry Twp., PA
Posts: 31
Default Checking the Horn Circcuit

I'm trying to test the main wiring harness which I just installed before completing the installation of headlights, tail lights, horn, etc. Everything makes sense to me except the wiring to the horn. Using a test light, one of the two wires is "hot" all the time, one is not. Pushing the horn button makes no difference in either wire. I was expecting to see a difference when the button was pushed. I have a different light switch rod but don't want to go thru the hassle of changing rods and I'd like to know if things are okay before proceeding. Are things okay or do I have a problem?
Old Newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 05:39 PM   #2
Jim/GA
Senior Member
 
Jim/GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Young Harris, GA
Posts: 1,617
Default Re: Checking the Horn Circcuit

The solid yellow wire that goes into the horn is not switched by the horn button at the top of the light switch rod. It is "hot" all the time.

The wire that has a tracer that connects to the horn goes up to the horn button, and the horn button provides the GROUND for the horn. Then it turns the motor and makes the sound.

Find a wiring diagram and study it. You are wise to check things out in advance. I use a ohmmeter without connecting the battery. You have too many "amps" available inside that battery to use it for testing (unless you have added a fuse).

.
__________________
Jim Cannon
"Have a Model A day!"
Jim/GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-02-2020, 05:48 PM   #3
copgib
Member
 
copgib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Williston, Florida
Posts: 79
Default Re: Checking the Horn Circcuit

Good luck Jim you have my vote!
copgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 06:07 PM   #4
Old Newbie
Member
 
Old Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cranberry Twp., PA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Checking the Horn Circcuit

Thanks Jim. That makes sense to me and thankfully I think I'm okay to proceed. Seems there's no easy way to test with a test light. I'll try an ohm meter.
Old Newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 10:12 AM   #5
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Red Deer, Alberta
Posts: 3,733
Default Re: Checking the Horn Circcuit

Quote:
Seems there's no easy way to test with a test light.
W/a test light, connect one end to the ungrounded side of the battery and the other end to the wire coming from the horn button. Simple.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 11:14 AM   #6
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 877
Default Re: Checking the Horn Circcuit

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by katy View Post
W/a test light, connect one end to the ungrounded side of the battery and the other end to the wire coming from the horn button. Simple.

Yep.
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 01:44 PM   #7
Old Newbie
Member
 
Old Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cranberry Twp., PA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Checking the Horn Circcuit

Thanks fellows. I thought of that myself after the brain fog left. Did that yesterday and I'm in good shape. Ready to finish the job. Thanks to all!
Old Newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.