Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2019, 12:27 PM   #1
Ian1932
Senior Member
 
Ian1932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 317
Default 32' Front Brake Lines

I gues my rear brake lines are little exposed...Im going to leave it that way. I probably will only drive this a couple miles a year on nice PA roads in short clips. Surley there is a chance i can blaze across some debris, think im going to take my chances and roll the dice on that...I do appreciate the input though!

I was messing with front brake lines...Wasnt really sure where to rout these though. Everything here is just almost finger tight and would be easy for me to change. Not sure if this is good or bad or if they will interfere with things later in assembly...Input is appreciated! Even if its bad...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2810.jpg (97.7 KB, 91 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2811.jpg (95.9 KB, 91 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2812.jpg (95.1 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2813.jpg (90.9 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2814.jpg (79.6 KB, 84 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2815.jpg (81.4 KB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2816.jpg (93.6 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_2818.jpg (60.6 KB, 78 views)
Ian1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 01:05 PM   #2
V8 Bob
Senior Member
 
V8 Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granger (Northern) Indiana
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

I would (and have) just gone through the frame, instead of under it. Cleaner looks and better protection.
V8 Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-01-2019, 01:10 PM   #3
Ian1932
Senior Member
 
Ian1932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 317
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8 Bob View Post
I would (and have) just gone through the frame, instead of under it. Cleaner looks and better protection.
I was trying not to drill any holes through the frame...Is that what you mean, going right through the side of the frame?
Ian1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 01:14 PM   #4
V8 Bob
Senior Member
 
V8 Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granger (Northern) Indiana
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian1932 View Post
I was trying not to drill any holes through the frame...Is that what you mean, going right through the side of the frame?

Yes, or use/enlarge one already there.
V8 Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 01:23 PM   #5
Ian1932
Senior Member
 
Ian1932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 317
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8 Bob View Post
Yes, or use/enlarge one already there.

I dont have any extra holes...I would really hate to drill a hole through the frame. The only holes in the area are for the shocks...
Ian1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 03:03 PM   #6
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,031
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

It looks fine to me. Nice neat tidy job.

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 03:17 PM   #7
TJ
Senior Member
 
TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Napa,California
Posts: 4,171
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

I would have the "T" inside the frame rail. Have the line from the MC come into the back of the "T", the line to the left bracket come from the top of the "T" and the line to the right side come from the front of the "T" and that line follow the edge of the front crossmember. Following the edge you can anchor it in more than one place. I don't think the "T" should be out in the open like it is now.
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 04:07 PM   #8
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 4,739
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Saw the earlier post re the copper question I had;
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=273351
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!

Last edited by redmodelt; 12-01-2019 at 04:20 PM.
redmodelt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 06:35 PM   #9
IronFord
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Nd
Posts: 20
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Are you running original shocks? if not enlarge one hole and run your rubber hose to the frame through that hole.
IronFord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 07:38 AM   #10
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 767
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Routing looks fine. The front hose connections are well protected if you look at the spring, etc. ahead of it. Very little chance that the lines or hose would hit or scrape anything.


Glenn
glennpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 07:43 AM   #11
Terry,OH
Senior Member
 
Terry,OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,343
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Take a look at the fittings the 1940 Ford uses. You may be able to reduce connections.
Terry,OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 11:04 PM   #12
CWPASADENA
Senior Member
 
CWPASADENA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PASADENA, CA
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

The Early V-8 Garage makes line kits for your '32. They can supply pre-bent lines and all the fittings and related hardware. Their kits use existing holes with no modifications required.


They also make complete conversion kits for converting the mechanical brake 32-38 Fords to hydraulics. Everything bolt on, no modifications to the chassis required.


Chris W.
CWPASADENA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 06:27 AM   #13
Ian1932
Senior Member
 
Ian1932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 317
Default Re: 32' Front Brake Lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by CWPASADENA View Post
The Early V-8 Garage makes line kits for your '32. They can supply pre-bent lines and all the fittings and related hardware. Their kits use existing holes with no modifications required.


They also make complete conversion kits for converting the mechanical brake 32-38 Fords to hydraulics. Everything bolt on, no modifications to the chassis required.


Chris W.
Surley that cost a pretty penny, and im poor...lol. Im trying to do this cleanly but doing the work myself. There are so many things i could just go buy...I have to pick and choose what i spend the money on. Im using lever shocks and just spend a decent chunk on them. I can weld so i kinda need to go the "cheap" direction...
Ian1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.