Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2014, 08:07 PM   #1
FrankWest
Senior Member
 
FrankWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,722
Default 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Can it be reset or must it be replaced?
Can't find it on firewall? What does it look like?
FrankWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:30 PM   #2
supereal
Senior Member
 
supereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,360
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

There is no fuse or breaker, as such. Years ago, a fuse block was sold as an add on. The later "breaker" was actually a sort of buzzer that allowed operation to get home when a short appeared. We divide circuits and install push button teset breakers if the customer requests it. The generator charging circuit should never be fused. In the event the fuse blows, without a load, the generator output will spike, likely causing damage to the unit. A battery cutoff switch will reduce the liklihood of a fire caused by deteriorated wiring.
supereal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-29-2014, 08:52 PM   #3
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Frank, Up under the dash above the steering column is a fiber block with a fuse for the lights on the right, and the ignition resistor on the left. No other variation appeared until 1940, when an intermittent breaker replaced the fuse. This breaker resets itself continuosly so the driver can make it home with blinking headlights.
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 09:18 PM   #4
DavidG
Senior Member
 
DavidG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6,284
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Frank is asking about a four-cylinder car hence there's no ignition resistor, only the fuse block with a readily-replaceable 20 amp. fuse for the lighting circuit.
DavidG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 12:48 PM   #5
FrankWest
Senior Member
 
FrankWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

still can't find it
FrankWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 04:51 PM   #6
DavidG
Senior Member
 
DavidG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6,284
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Frank,

The photos below may help. Both pertain to a largely original four-cylinder '33. Note that in the photo the fuse block is located directly below the left side of the ignition coil on the upper vertical portion of the firewall. The illustration is of original wiring and while it is not to scale, it may give you guidance if any of your wiring is not original.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg '33 B under dash photo.jpg (47.9 KB, 65 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 33-34 four cylinder wiring.pdf (575.7 KB, 24 views)

Last edited by DavidG; 10-30-2014 at 05:57 PM.
DavidG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 07:59 PM   #7
FrankWest
Senior Member
 
FrankWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidG View Post
Frank,

The photos below may help. Both pertain to a largely original four-cylinder '33. Note that in the photo the fuse block is located directly below the left side of the ignition coil on the upper vertical portion of the firewall. The illustration is of original wiring and while it is not to scale, it may give you guidance if any of your wiring is not original.
This is wonderful information! I will look at my car in detail. You are the greatest!
FrankWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 01:42 PM   #8
FrankWest
Senior Member
 
FrankWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Found it! Everything looks original.
My fuse was broken.
FrankWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 07:15 PM   #9
DavidG
Senior Member
 
DavidG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6,284
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Super!
DavidG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 07:27 PM   #10
FrankWest
Senior Member
 
FrankWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

Thanks for all you help. I could not have done it without your help!
My Head lights woik!
My dash lights briefly flickered as a switch them on. The swith must need cleaning!
Dome light does not woik! How fo you open the dome light fixture?
FrankWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 10:43 PM   #11
DavidG
Senior Member
 
DavidG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6,284
Default Re: 1933 circuit breaker or fuse?

There's a split retaining ring on the perimeter of the lens nested into a grove in the dome lamp housing. You need to carefully pry that ring out to release the lens. To be on the safe side have someone hold a towel immediately under the lamp while you're doing your prying as the lens may suddenly come loose and fall before you can catch it. Very few lenses survive the fall if not caught midair.
DavidG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.