Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2019, 02:21 AM   #1
Lawrie
Senior Member
 
Lawrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 3,289
Default RH drive speedo

Any one with the RH drive cars know where to get the longer speedo cable from,its for a 33
Lawrie
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 03:43 AM   #2
Jembow
Senior Member
 
Jembow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Spalding, United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Over here, I would start by talking to Speedograph-Richfield.
Jembow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-28-2019, 04:08 AM   #3
Kpar
Senior Member
 
Kpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gladstone QLD Australia
Posts: 244
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Lawrie, I'm going to show my age here. Repco used to sell an internal cable kit that you crimped up the ends. The outside was a different story though.
Kpar
Kpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 01:59 PM   #4
Brian
Senior Member
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Masterton, New Zealand
Posts: 2,434
Default Re: RH drive speedo

I get an instrument repair technician to make mine...
__________________
Unfortunately, two half wits don't make a whole wit!
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 02:58 PM   #5
Lawrie
Senior Member
 
Lawrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 3,289
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Mine is still OK, but as I,m putting in some dyna mat insulation and can see I have a LH drive one fitted and its does not fit properly as its too short,
Lawrie
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 03:23 PM   #6
FlatheadTed
Senior Member
 
FlatheadTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 4,082
Send a message via AIM to FlatheadTed
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Lawrie try AJays ajays Ford Wahi,
info@fordv8parts.com
__________________
http://www.flatheadted.com
FlatheadTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 05:06 PM   #7
Robin 47 ford pickup
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Victoria , Australia
Posts: 38
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Hi , you could try Flexible Drive Agencies in Brisbane. They have workshops in most major cities. The Brisbane # I have here is 07 35841099 . You can send them the old one and see if they can make you a new longer one. they do all sorts of cables , check the internet .cheers
Robin 47 ford pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 05:28 PM   #8
koates
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia.
Posts: 1,409
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Lawrie, SPEEDSCREEN in Flemington, Melbourne can make any cable you need, just google them. On a 33-34 Ford the cable is routed through a hole in the very lower left corner of the firewall and not through the wiring harness hole. A LHD USA car has a cable length of 61"long which is way too short for a RHD car if routed correctly. You need a cable length of approx. 85"" long. Some of the Ford trucks in the 1930s have a cable this long and can be sometimes be found on ebay. Regards, Kevin.
koates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 05:49 PM   #9
danliveshere
Senior Member
 
danliveshere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cairns , Australia
Posts: 569
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Lawrie I have seen 70” cables listed on eBay but that sounds too short as well. I’m looking as well so let me know what you find.
danliveshere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 05:52 PM   #10
Lawrie
Senior Member
 
Lawrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 3,289
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Kevin, yes I know the cable needs to be 81.5
I thought about turning the turtle the other way and drilling a new how in the t/wall in the same place as the existing one but on the right hand side,but of corse the cable would then be turning the wrong way .will try speedscreen

The RH length is the same as a truck ,but that would be just as hard to find,
Robin, I had thought about FDA as we used them a lot when in business.
Also I have had an offer of one from a barn member
Lawrie
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 04:13 PM   #11
bobH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: so cal, placerville, vegas
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: RH drive speedo

I'm puzzled... Over here, just go to a speedo shop, they make whatever you want, any length. Not the same there?
bobH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 05:45 PM   #12
Kpar
Senior Member
 
Kpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gladstone QLD Australia
Posts: 244
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Lawrie, Speedo cable makeup kit that I mentioned is available on amazon $10.00
Kpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 10:18 PM   #13
Lawrie
Senior Member
 
Lawrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 3,289
Default Re: RH drive speedo

Keith , the speedo cable is OK ,it was just the stock LHD one,and as such is routed in the wrong way.and too short.
I found an old original RHD one and fitted that,
I have a source of the RHD ones so will know in a day or so,
Lawrie
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.