Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 11:01 AM   #21
scicala
Senior Member
 
scicala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Detroit suburb, MI
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken/Alabama View Post
Been running multiple carbs for years. Never had a choke hooked up , no issues with cold starts.


Try that in Michigan and let me know how it works out. LOL


Sal
scicala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 12:40 PM   #22
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 890
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NealinCA View Post
Max - What is your opinion of the "snap back" return springs that Stromberg sells to go on the driver's side arms?



I installed a set, but they seem overly stiff to me. Thoughts?

Neal
Those springs are quite stiff. Add the stiffness of the accelerator pump springs and you have some real stress on a multiple carb linkage setup. On my triple carb setup I removed the accelerator pump springs on the end carbs and used the throttle shaft spring depicted only on the two end carbs. That ensures that the end carbs close fully, and keeps slack out of the linkage without excessive spring resistance, which can cause twisting of the center carb throttle shaft.
drolston is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-16-2019, 03:12 PM   #23
fjz
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 85
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Very interesting guys. I have an Eldebrock Super 2 carb intake for my 48. Was wondering about the choke and throttle cable hook up. Am I right in assuming the throttle cable also goes to one carb only? For the pedal I intend to order a dual carb linkage rod, 3-1/2" long from Macs if can not buy locally. Also how to you tell what carb you have? Mine are marked Ford. Regards Frank
fjz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 06:00 PM   #24
FL&WVMIKE
Senior Member
 
FL&WVMIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Daytona Beach, Fl & Spencer, W. Va,
Posts: 4,395
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

If the carbs are progressive... that is, the engine only runs on the first at part throttle, then the other comes on as the throttle is further depressed... you would only need a choke on the primary carb. If the carbs are synchronized, and open together, you may need a choke on both, but fully choking only one of them might be enough.
__________________
Mike Jr. here. I get on here every few months to check messages, and look through his almost 500 saved messages for information on the '29 and '34 I still have. A lot of very nice people on here. He truly enjoyed Ford Barn.
FL&WVMIKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.