Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-25-2017, 08:25 AM   #1
JonLedbetter

Default Water Issues in a 31 Model A

My dad has a 1931 model A that is being stored at my house. The issue I am currently having is with losing water. I know the system is not pressurized, so my question is should I be losing water at the overflow tube under the cap? I am fairly new to the whole antique car thing. Is the cooling system suppose to recycle the water back through the car or am I just suppose to be adding water periodically since there is no coolant reservoir? I hope I'm not asking a stupid question, but any help would be greatly appreciated.
JonLedbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 08:29 AM   #2
V4F

Default Re: Water Issues in a 31 Model A

maybe radiator is plugged . normally it will find its own level , just about the baffle . try diving it at speed & see if it pushes water out then . be safe
Old 07-25-2017, 08:46 AM   #3
JonLedbetter

So if the radiator is not plugged then it should not lose water and keep recycling it back through the system? Thanks for your input I appreciate it.
Old 07-25-2017, 08:50 AM   #4
Terry, NJ

Welcome to the hobby and the Barn! A loss of water through the overflow tube is generally an over fill problem. Try only filling to the plate in the radiator. BUT flush the system! Get the old iron OUT. If you look at the engine from the driver's side, you will see a bent tube in the radiator hose. Take your hand a feel under the bottom of the tube. On the level part, You will feel a valve under neath. With pliers, you can turn the the thumbscrew and drain the system. Refill with water with a small amount of vinegar and run til hot, the drain again. Don't use a lot of vinegar and don't leave it in there a long time.
Terry
Terry, NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 08:57 AM   #5
JonLedbetter