Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-16-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
DR

Default 1930 Model A

Hello,

Can anyone give me some ideas on what would cause the front end to shake after going over a manhole cover or a bump in the road. I basically have to stop the car and then proceed from there. I checked the king pins by jacking the car up and they wheel seems like it has no play. So I am not sure if this was a common thing for these cars or not. I am still learning about it. Please advise.
DR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:42 PM   #2
jkeesey

Default Re: 1930 Model A

Check your shocks, sometimes they also crack the front crossmember which supports the front spring. To test that support the front end on your bumper or frame and lean on one front wheel and see if it moves a lot.
jkeesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:49 PM   #3
Ted in MN

Be certain that the wishbone ball is clamped with the steel retainer not an after-market rubber ball. Also check front wheel bearings and front wheel toe in.
Ted in MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:12 PM   #4
Tom Endy

Check your front wheel bearing races. Make sure none of the four races inside the drum is loose on its mount. They should be pressed in tight. A spun race is a common fault. If one is spun you will need to replace the hub.

Tom Endy
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:16 PM   #5
newshirt

Make sure the pitman arm connection to the sector shaft is very tight. Any slop there can cause this.
Old 05-16-2012, 10:28 PM   #6
Jerry Parr WI

Almost always caused by worn or loose steering parts. Jack the car up by the axle and while rocking the wheel from side to side check for movement in tie rod ends, steering gear and gear mounting bolts. Best with two people. Improper toe in may also cause the problem.
Jerry Parr WI is offline   Reply With Quote