Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2021, 03:35 PM   #1
Burt Lake Barn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Indian River, Michigan
Posts: 37
Default External oil filter - question on oil lines

I have mounted my external oil filter on the firewall and will need to buy flexible oil lines with the correct connection ends. I know that Ford used different types of threads etc. and so Iím asking for some advice. Donít want to get the wrong parts. I do have the restrictor fitting already. Also, I have not seen anyplace that offers the flexible lines pre made for the flathead so if anyone knows of a good source, Iíd appreciate hearing. My flathead is a 1949 8BA.
Burt Lake Barn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 03:45 PM   #2
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,744
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Burt, buy some 1/4 dia. steel fuel line and make your own using a hand bender. That what I did when I remounted my 8BA filter. I made little hollow metal couplers out of drilled bolt shanks and soldered them in place where needed on the lines. You hardly notice the lines. Looks better than bulky hoses. Give it a try and save $$$.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4695b.jpg (62.3 KB, 62 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4764b.jpg (55.0 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4801b.jpg (25.5 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5754b.jpg (41.4 KB, 71 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5722b.jpg (83.4 KB, 69 views)

Last edited by 19Fordy; 01-26-2021 at 03:56 PM.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-26-2021, 04:25 PM   #3
34PKUP
Senior Member
 
34PKUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 716
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Fordy View Post
Burt, buy some 1/4 dia. steel fuel line and make your own using a hand bender. That what I did when I remounted my 8BA filter. I made little hollow metal couplers out of drilled bolt shanks and soldered them in place where needed on the lines. You hardly notice the lines. Looks better than bulky hoses. Give it a try and save $$$.
You are using 1/4" steel lines to mount the filter to the "firewall"?
Is that normal for "firewall" mounting ?
34PKUP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 04:49 PM   #4
Aarongriffey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hayward,CA
Posts: 513
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

I just did a ‘46.
Although I mounted the oil filter on the head I used store bough brake tubing, they fit everything including the restriction.
Burt mounted the oil filter on the firewall so he needs flexible lines.
Aarongriffey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 05:09 PM   #5
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 5,364
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Your engine uses a 1/4 NPT and a 1/8 NPT for output and oil return.
You have to determine what is used on whatever oil filter you have.
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 05:35 PM   #6
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,744
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34PKUP View Post
You are using 1/4" steel lines to mount the filter to the "firewall"?
Is that normal for "firewall" mounting ?
No, I used the 1/4 inch lines to route the oil lines the same as the stock set up using the stock oil filter mounted on the stock 8BA block. I recall now that I did use 1/4 inch brake line, not fuel line. I am assuming the original post was referring to mounting the stock filter on the firewall and then running the lines the same way the OEM lines were routed. If he was referring to using a remote 95% filter set up, I don't know if the 1/4 inch lines would work as well as the larger ID hose.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 05:36 PM   #7
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 2,721
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

any place that makes up hydraulic hoses will make what ever you want. i have used aero quip, thats a brand name, its black cloth covered stuff used on big semi trucks for air and oil lines. has an old time look to it, and strong as hell. you just need to know what fittings you need, and the length
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 06:10 PM   #8
Burt Lake Barn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Indian River, Michigan
Posts: 37
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Sorry for any confusion. I’m not mounting the original filter on the head, but rather on the firewall so I need to use a flexible line. I was hoping to get confirmation on the fittings and thread type. Thanks for the aeroquip hose reference. I’ll also assume that the post indicating “Your engine uses a 1/4 NPT and a 1/8 NPT for output and oil return” is what I need to go with. I’m using the same 1949 oil canister that was with the 1949 8BA before I rebuilt it.
Burt Lake Barn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 08:56 PM   #9
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 2,721
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

yes, the lines at the rear of the block are 1/4" pipe (npt), and the fitting in the filter housing if original is most likely made to take a flared end like brake line. no adapter for that i am aware of, you would remove that and replace it with either a male or female to match what ever hose you get. that fitting is most likely the one with the re stricter orifice in it. if so, i would weld or braze the end of the new fitting shut and drill to .060, or 1/16". i cant speak for the return line to the motor as there are some variables there. doesnt an 8ba have a return port in the block, and not the pan like the earlier motor?
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 12:06 PM   #10
Burt Lake Barn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Indian River, Michigan
Posts: 37
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Yes, the 8BA (Ď49) has its oil return port in the block down by the oil pan.
Burt Lake Barn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 08:25 PM   #11
Rodrelic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: South of Williamsport pa
Posts: 65
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Not very cutting edge, I used grease gun hose for firewall mount. Bolted to head spoiled looks IMO
Rodrelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 08:29 PM   #12
RalphG
Senior Member
 
RalphG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 2,091
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodrelic View Post
Not very cutting edge, I used grease gun hose for firewall mount. Bolted to head spoiled looks IMO
It was not cheap but I got a hydraulic shop to make an oil line for my 52 Merc. Something over $70. Its surprising how fast the oil pumps out of an engine when one of those brittle old lines breaks.
RalphG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 08:45 PM   #13
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,860
Default Re: External oil filter - question on oil lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphG View Post
It was not cheap but I got a hydraulic shop to make an oil line for my 52 Merc. Something over $70. Its surprising how fast the oil pumps out of an engine when one of those brittle old lines breaks.
Okay, I'll let ya all in on a little secret... when I restore a '39 or '40 I always use concourse correct lines - NOS. What's not obvious is the fact that I solder up the supply line.
I think I'd cry if a line blew on one of my restorations. Nah, I don't think I'd cry, I know I would.
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.