Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2020, 12:57 PM   #1
Phil Gillespie
Senior Member
 
Phil Gillespie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 1,138
Default 59a Engine swap Temperature Sensors.

So have recently swapped out a 59A engine in 46 Mercury Coupe.
Good compression on engine but had approx 0.5 l oil consumption per 50 mls.
Presently have 75 mls on engine. No theremostats fitted.
The temperature gauge, standard unit rose to 3/4 then to full on temp gauge,it was a hot day! Yesterday fitted another aftermarket temp gauge to LHS head
this was showing approx 140 to 150 facoory init 3/4. Will probably fit a similar aftermarket gauge to RHS for cross checking.

Question: LHS unit has 2 terminals RHS has 1 terminal.
The reading on gauge inside car is it the average of the two sensors of just shows the highest? If a sendor is faulty then nil reading open circuit.
Is it possible to have an error in original temp gauge set up?
Each side can be checked by themselves as both should be similar readings?
Appreciate advice and assistance.

Phil NZ
Phil Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 01:01 PM   #2
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,753
Default Re: 59a Engine swap Temperature Sensors.

Only the single terminal is providing the ground to the dash gauge to display temperature. The two terminal sender is just a switch (on/off) that is preset to a temperature. When the points in the two terminal sender are closed it just passes through the ground signal from the one terminal sender. When the two terminal sender exceeds a set value the points open and remove the ground to the gauge which causes it to read full hot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Temp Gaugex.jpg (41.7 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by JSeery; 02-24-2020 at 01:06 PM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-24-2020, 01:35 PM   #3
Phil Gillespie
Senior Member
 
Phil Gillespie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: 59a Engine swap Temperature Sensors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
Only the single terminal is providing the ground to the dash gauge to display temperature. The two terminal sender is just a switch (on/off) that is preset to a temperature. When the points in the two terminal sender are closed it just passes through the ground signal from the one terminal sender. When the two terminal sender exceeds a set value the points open and remove the ground to the gauge which causes it to read full hot.

Appreciate the clarification on the temperature sensors operation.
I think my best bet is the have two aftermarket temperature gauges fitted, monitor and swap for side to side for comparrison. Have just flushed radiator and engine. Dont want to cook this one.
Phil NZ
Phil Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 01:45 PM   #4
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,738
Default Re: 59a Engine swap Temperature Sensors.

I run the stock electric gauge connected to the single pole sensor in one head and an aftermarket mechanical gauge mounted discreetly under the cash in the other. It preserves the stock instrumentation and provides a "belt and suspenders" approach. (Two completely different independent systems that can be checked against each other.)
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 05:07 PM   #5
flatford8
Senior Member
 
flatford8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lyman,ME.
Posts: 1,436
Default Re: 59a Engine swap Temperature Sensors.

I run the same thing in my ‘50. It was that way when I bought it.....works good....Mark
__________________
I'm thinkin' about crankin'
My ragged ol' truck up
and haulin' myself into town.
Billy Joe Shaver
flatford8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.