Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2019, 05:52 PM   #1
LeRoiGross
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 32
Arrow Brake Light Switch

I keep having trouble with my repro brake light switch. It doesn't make good contact inside. Is there a better design out there?
LeRoiGross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 06:08 PM   #2
Rod-MI
Junior Member
 
Rod-MI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jackson, Michigan
Posts: 18
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Yes Snyder's and Brattons sell a correct copy of the original
STOP LIGHT SWITCH 30-31
A-13480-BOR 30-31 $49.95
Rod-MI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-02-2019, 06:34 PM   #3
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

At least take it apart and see what the problem is before you spend $50. So simple, you should be able to fix it.
Jacksonlll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 06:55 PM   #4
Gary Karr
Senior Member
 
Gary Karr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,021
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

But, which brake light switch are you referring to?
Gary Karr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 08:49 PM   #5
LeRoiGross
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 32
Arrow Re: Brake Light Switch

I should have remembered that there at least 2 switches out there. I have a 29 and I may have fixed it by bending the contact inside. Still seems like a marginal design that will keep bugging me.
LeRoiGross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 08:56 PM   #6
TerryH
Senior Member
 
TerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fountain Valley, Calif.
Posts: 784
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Years ago I had an issue with mine, and Tom Endy recommended I buy one from A&L, as it has a bronze bushing that will last and never bind. Have had mine now for almost 14 years....a great product!
TerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:35 PM   #7
Jeff/Illinois
Senior Member
 
Jeff/Illinois's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,028
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Terry I think that is the one that Snyder's and Bratton's is sourcing, from A&L.

You know it will be right

And, 50 bucks for a good switch is cheaper than being rear ended.
Jeff/Illinois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 11:13 PM   #8
father-son
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

A&L only has 30-31's; 28-29's are of course different.
father-son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 12:58 AM   #9
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,665
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Here's another thing the vendors don't have - any of them. The light switch you guys use on the '28 and 9 cars - the ones that attach to the side of the gearbox don't fit a RHD car. What was used originally on a RHD car and wil lthey ever do anything about it? I doubt it.
FWIW, I attach a plate in the corner formed by the cross member and the chassis rail and mount a LHD switch on that. I connect it to the brake pedal with a short piece of light chain. The connection has to be flexible so when the brakes are off, the chain can asg and not push itself off the switch.
__________________
For the first half of our life we trade our health for wealth. For the second half, we trade our wealth for health.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 03:27 AM   #10
updraught
Senior Member
 
updraught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,257
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

https://www.oneillvintageford.co.uk/..._2d13480_2dRHD
Like this?
updraught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:25 AM   #11
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,665
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by updraught View Post
Wow, not at that price!
__________________
For the first half of our life we trade our health for wealth. For the second half, we trade our wealth for health.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:54 AM   #12
PalAl
Senior Member
 
PalAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Orangeville Illinois
Posts: 171
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeRoiGross View Post
I keep having trouble with my repro brake light switch. It doesn't make good contact inside. Is there a better design out there?
This may help make a repair and save a buck or two. Hope it helps
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 28.29.Stop.Light.Switch.Cauton.P1.pdf (460.8 KB, 80 views)
File Type: pdf 28.29.Stop.Light.Switch.Cauton.P2.pdf (532.3 KB, 52 views)
PalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 07:13 AM   #13
updraught
Senior Member
 
updraught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,257
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synchro909 View Post
Wow, not at that price!
In this day and age I'd buy a newer switch from Speedway and connect it up like the Model T guys do. And use LED stop lights. It's under the floor, nobody can see it.

Be seen, be safe.
updraught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 10:40 AM   #14
father-son
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Thanks PalAl; great article. We had problems with our first 29 switch. The Vintique one had a short plunger. We ordered a second one from another vendor and it had a longer plunger, now all good. I will say there is a very small clearance between the contacts and the mounting screws for electrical connections can sometimes move the internal contacts.
father-son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 02:46 PM   #15
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,665
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by updraught View Post
In this day and age I'd buy a newer switch from Speedway and connect it up like the Model T guys do. And use LED stop lights. It's under the floor, nobody can see it.

Be seen, be safe.
Speedway???
__________________
For the first half of our life we trade our health for wealth. For the second half, we trade our wealth for health.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 04:50 PM   #16
updraught
Senior Member
 
updraught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,257
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synchro909 View Post
Speedway???
Something like this.
https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Speed...itch,1972.html
updraught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 12:32 AM   #17
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,665
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by updraught View Post
OK, now I think I have it. The reson I haven't heard of them is they are US based.
__________________
For the first half of our life we trade our health for wealth. For the second half, we trade our wealth for health.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 12:58 PM   #18
jrelliott
Senior Member
 
jrelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pine, AZ
Posts: 663
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

You can repair the switch by taking it apart and bending the contacts so they touch better. I also found some brass tubing about 1/4" long and soldered it at both ends of the switch housing where the plunger goes through the housing so the plunger could not slip out of the housing. Been working for 10 years now.
jrelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 01:44 AM   #19
apbright
Senior Member
 
apbright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 160
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Hi folks,

I recently had to repair even the A&L US-made brake light switch with the brass bushings, even after only ~6 months of daily use. I was not very happy about that, for, given that one has to severely deform and re-deform the sheet metal tabs in order to open and re-close it, I have the feeling that only one or two repairs are going to be possible.


-A
apbright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 06:22 PM   #20
37 Coupe
Senior Member
 
37 Coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: Brake Light Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by apbright View Post
Hi folks,

I recently had to repair even the A&L US-made brake light switch with the brass bushings, even after only ~6 months of daily use. I was not very happy about that, for, given that one has to severely deform and re-deform the sheet metal tabs in order to open and re-close it, I have the feeling that only one or two repairs are going to be possible.


-A
I wonder what symptoms you had with your switch? Mine works on first braking but as plunger moves to furthest out no brak lights. I jumped contacts so I know it must be the switch.It is the $49.95 one from Bratton's and has yet to get me out of the garage.Thinking about one of those Ampco NORS ones on Ebay now and then next if Bratton's won't help.Trouble is I have had the switch for year now and just hooked it up.
__________________
"Never complain,never explain"... Henry Ford II
37 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.