Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-01-2018, 03:14 AM   #1
GerryAllen

Default How many miles between oil changes?

I am new to the Model A world. I use my car as a daily driver, I put on about 600-700 miles a month, mostly at 35- 40 MPH, paved roads no hills to climb as such. My car is a standard Model A, no oil filter, using Chevron 15-40 detergent weight oil.
I know the original owners manual states change your oil every 500 miles. With todays detergent oils, multi grade, better road conditions, at what mileage do you change your oil?
Gerry Allen, Birch Bay WA
GerryAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 03:26 AM   #2
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: How many miles between oil changes?

500 -1000 miles oil is cheap rebuilt engines are not. I like the saying better safe than sorry, stock up when oil is on sale.
Old 07-01-2018, 04:57 AM   #3
western77

I do run a filter on my engine and change the oil and filter at 3000 miles. I have 60000 miles on this engine. 15-40 Mobil oil. I am not saying this is correct, it's just what I do.
western77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 06:57 AM   #4
WHN

I would recommend changing more offen than not.

Five quarts of oil is much cheaper than a motor rebuild. Actually four and a half.

Today’s oil is much better than the oil used back in the day. However, it’s still the same engine. You want to keep it as clean as possible.

We have always changed oil once a year or at 500 miles. We use 20w50 Walmart oil. Enjoy.
WHN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 07:14 AM   #5
Jacksonlll

Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll

You are safe at 2000miles. Just make sure the oil stays clean. If you drive it just once in a while, then every 500 miles. So, somewhere between as long as it stays fairly clean. Just my opinion. There are a million views on this subject.