Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-28-2020, 06:08 AM   #1
carryinwood

Default Flathead Cylinder Heads

Im new to the Flathead Arena, just wondering whats the difference in the Factory V-8 Cylinder Head to the After Market ones..Besides the Aluminum and Cast Iron Material. Can the Factory ones be Hopped Up in some way? Thanks in Advance for any Help/Ideas.
carryinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 06:22 AM   #2
richard crow

Default Re: Flathead Cylinder Heads

you new to the flat head engine if you want a nice smooth running eng leave it stock enjoy it the way it was desigened
richard crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 07:22 AM   #3
Ol' Ron

The combustion chamber is different in all these heads to achieve the results you are looking for. In most cases it's just to raise the compression ratio. Most stock flathead engines have aprox 6:1 CR. Raising it to 8;1 will improve the torque output of the engine as well as the fuel economy. Yoy can also select a different head to improve performance, such as installing an EAB head on an earlier engine. MIlling theheads a small amt can also improve combustion, but you have to be carful here as you can bend valver a break oistons if your not measuring what your doing. Get a copy of JWL's book ot mine, might help.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 08:26 AM   #4
51woodie

I'm not that familiar with "hopping up" a flathead, but I don't think just changing the cylinder heads on a stock engine will help all that much, other than what Ol' Ron says. Another few horsepower is not going to motivate, in my case, a stock 3500 pound '46 Coupe, a whole bunch more. I break into a sweat when a VW Bug pulls up be side me at a light, and the driver revs the engine!
51woodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 02:41 PM   #5
tubman