Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-23-2012, 03:49 PM   #1
4 pot truck

Default Rear main thrust

I see Snyders sells a bronze rear main thrust that goes in place of the rear main seal. If you fit this do you then have to file it to set the correct thrust?
I have just stripped my engine and have a lot of end play in the crank, the Babbitt looks ok but I assume the thrust surface must be worn.
I am new to this so any help and advice will be much appreciated.
Thanks Andy
4 pot truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:18 PM   #2
Brian T

Default Re: Rear main thrust

Hello Andy.
I used it with success, although there is not much sense installing it if the main bearing clearances are excessive and cannot be adjusted, there is much info here on checking and adjusting bearings, PM me with your E-mail for pictures of when I installed my thrust.
Brian.

Last edited by Brian T; 07-23-2012 at 05:23 PM.
Brian T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
bdentremont

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4 pot truck View Post
I see Snyders sells a bronze rear main thrust that goes in place of the rear main seal. If you fit this do you then have to file it to set the correct thrust?
I have just stripped my engine and have a lot of end play in the crank, the Babbitt looks ok but I assume the thrust surface must be worn.
I am new to this so any help and advice will be much appreciated.
Thanks Andy
Hi Andy:
I've used this too. I my case, I opened the engine because of excessive end play in the crank. I wasn't thrilled with the condition of the babbet, but was able to get all the clearances into adjustment except for the end play issue. I was hoping to get another few thousand miles out of it if possible. There was a crack in the babbitt at the back of the rear main and it was worn severely, causing the end play.