Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2015, 02:02 PM   #1
Nielsk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default Light switch, needs advice

Hi Guys.
I'm fixing a lot of small issues on a Tudor sedan I bought last autumn.
Besides bent spokes, cracked manifold, brakes not adjusted, I have to look at the electrical system.
It was easy to fix the wiring so the headlights dipped at the same time, the brake light was 21 w in both sides and so on.
BUT: Often switching on high beam, would result in only glow in one headlight and one rear light. I would fettle a little with the light switch and connections, and get none the wiser. .
Then it would work again a couple of times.
I decided that the crappy chinese light switch was to blame, so i soldered a good used original one on instead. I still got the same problem. Have I overlooked something ??
NielsK
Nielsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 02:08 PM   #2
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,536
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

That's typically a grounding problem. Just make sure that all of your light fixtures are well grounded and that will probably fix the problem. I have run extra ground wires to my just about everything. Rust, paint, and a myriad of other things have crept in over the last 80+ years.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-09-2015, 02:42 PM   #3
ericr
Senior Member
 
ericr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,341
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

what type of connection system are you using where the wires enter the headlamp?
ericr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 03:13 PM   #4
1930artdeco
Senior Member
 
1930artdeco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,725
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

Welcome to the Barn, and the grounding is probably the issue. Please post some pics and a location so someone can give you a hand if you want.

Mike
__________________
1930 TownSedan (Briggs)
Still learning after all these years....
1930artdeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 06:52 PM   #5
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,481
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

My taillight has some rust, thus preventing a good ground. Until I get time to restore the complete light I just ran a copper standed wire into the side of the bulb and the other end under the mounting screw. Works great now, but I'll fix it proper when time allows.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:01 AM   #6
Nielsk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

Grounding was my first thought. But it's a 2 filament bulb. So I should have problems with the dipped beam also. It also bothers me that taillights are ok with dipped beam. But when shifting to high I have a glow in left front and right rear. Harness is a aftermarked item. Car was "restored" 5 - 6 years ago
Nielsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:43 AM   #7
C26Pinelake
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan / Ontario border, Sarnia, Ontario. 50 miles from Detroit and 150 from Toronto.
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wesenberg View Post
My taillight has some rust, thus preventing a good ground. Until I get time to restore the complete light I just ran a copper standed wire into the side of the bulb and the other end under the mounting screw. Works great now, but I'll fix it proper when time allows.
I did the same as Tom but because it worked so well I have not completed the permanent fix. Wayne
C26Pinelake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 01:09 PM   #8
1crosscut
Senior Member
 
1crosscut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 1,382
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

Could it be your high beam contact post(s) in the light socket(s) are shorted?
Have you left the lights on this way for any length of time? I.E. wires heating up / blowing a fuse.
__________________
Dave

It'll feel better when it quits hurting.
1crosscut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 02:23 PM   #9
Nielsk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

I did change the switch with a original one in good condition. I soldered all the connectors as opposed the China crap that was in there with modern connectors. It didn't change a thing, much to my surprise. I was convinced that it was the Chinese switch failing. Especially because, when I fiddeled around with it, not finding anything conclusive, it would work a short period.
Nielsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 03:50 PM   #10
Nielsk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Light switch, needs advice

Ok guys
I ended up realizing it didn't help feeling sorry for myself.
So I but my brain in forward
I took the light switch apart and used a piece of welding rod to connect the live wire to the other wires one by one. Everything lit up perfectly EXCEPT high beam. Ok switch is ruled out. so it has to be the wiring. While i was pondering this problem I was playing with the piece of rod, and suddenly realised that I could hear a faint clicking sound
Now I just have to locate that small fu˝§#%%¤&%@@ng relais and fix it.
It was too cold and too late to continue. But now I victory is in sight
Nielsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.