Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2020, 12:54 AM   #1
jg61hawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 166
Default Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

I read the below in a post on backfiring and didn't want to "hijack" that thread with my question.

Re: Misfire and backfire when hot
Here is something that is easy to try. Connect a second condenser from the passenger side of the coil to ground. Easy with jumpers.


How do you do that, and is this a simple roadside fix / test if you suspect a bad condenser...Do you wire to the coil and how do you ground???

I love the simple tests/fixes like jumping the two lugs on the box to bypass the voltage meter if no spark!!

Thanks.

Last edited by jg61hawk; 06-03-2020 at 10:58 AM.
jg61hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 05:34 AM   #2
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,422
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

The easiest way is using jumpers. A lot of people mount a condenser on the fire wall, that grounds it, then an alligator clip to the pass. side of coil.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-03-2020, 10:09 AM   #3
jg61hawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 166
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

So that replaces the condenser in the system? Supposed the original condenser is OK, it's fine that they both are firing? This sounds like a great roadside fix.... Are my questions all YES answers? Thanks for the great tip!!! One last question...the POSITIVE side of the coil should be red wire on the passenger side of car? Again hoping for all yes answers.

Jim

Last edited by jg61hawk; 06-03-2020 at 11:00 AM.
jg61hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 10:16 AM   #4
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,516
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Quote:
I love the simple tests/fixes like jumping the two lugs on the box to bypass the voltage regulator!!
Voltage regulator? What voltage regulator?
__________________
Play it again Sam.

Last edited by katy; 06-04-2020 at 10:47 AM.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 10:59 AM   #5
jg61hawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 166
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

I corrected the post...I meant voltage meter, when you get no juice.
jg61hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 11:10 AM   #6
old31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Yes, the POSITIVE side of the coil should be red wire on the passenger side of car.

Just take a mirror underneath and see if you see a + or - on the dist.
old31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 02:58 PM   #7
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,422
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Yes to all. I have always heard that you have a higher probability of a new one being bad than an old good one going bad. I think a lot of good condensers are changed out. The A is unique in that it can cook a good condenser if things get hot enough.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 03:35 PM   #8
jg61hawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 166
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Thanks so much. Perhaps a thread should be started about fast roadside bypasses, like the jumper wires on the junction box and this type of fix to by pass/ check the condenser...what else you got up your sleeve??
jg61hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 03:58 PM   #9
California Travieso
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 672
Send a message via Yahoo to California Travieso
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Quote:
Originally Posted by jg61hawk View Post
Thanks so much. Perhaps a thread should be started about fast roadside bypasses, like the jumper wires on the junction box and this type of fix to by pass/ check the condenser...what else you got up your sleeve??
He already has a lot of that stuff on YouTube. Check it out.

David Serrano
California Travieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 04:20 PM   #10
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 693
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

I see an item of terminology that might need addressing. That is, when you jumper across the two posts on the junction box, you are bypassing the Ammeter, not voltage meter. That's kind of an important distinction electrically speaking. The ammeter is in series with the entire electrical circuit and when you jumper across it, you are eliminating the possibility that the ammeter has some how burned up or the connections are not holding out well. That is really all you are doing.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 04:51 PM   #11
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 1,882
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

But if the ampmeter is bad and you jumper it, then wouldn’t the ampmeter be acting as a cut out or voltage regulater??? So “technically” he’s right. Smiley face
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 04:59 PM   #12
jg61hawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 166
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Ha Bill G...funny you said that...first I said voltage regulator, then volt meter, I should have walked out to the car!!! It says AMPERE... the older I get the better I was!!!

THANKS TO ALL for this forum.
jg61hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 06:04 PM   #13
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 693
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Sea/Tac View Post
But if the ampmeter is bad and you jumper it, then wouldn’t the ampmeter be acting as a cut out or voltage regulater??? So “technically” he’s right. Smiley face

No, jumpering it just bypasses (short circuits) the ammeter entirely as if it were not there. In the standard Model A, the real regulator is the battery's ability to absorb the current the generator throws at it in a passive sense. No active voltage regulator exists in the Model A. But, you are correct in that with no ammeter in the circuit, that does cut out the load to the battery and all heck breaks loose and the generator can run amuck.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 07:25 PM   #14
jg61hawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 166
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Yes but the important thing here is............the older I get the better I was!!!
jg61hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 11:31 AM   #15
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Am not sure, maybe I am missing something. I can see this working if the condenser is opening. But if the old condenser is left in and the fault is the condenser is shorting, the shorting is still there and the second condenser is shorted by the original condenser.


Aren't most bad condensers due to shorting?
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 06:36 AM   #16
Karl
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manawatu, New Zealand
Posts: 1,171
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

You can of course make a temporary condenser by sticking two wires into a potato.
I read about some guy doing it with a Landrover in 2015. Didn't really believe it but it got me home when my 1910 Hupmobiles magneto went bad once I just wired the potato so that it was across the points and surprisingly it worked
__________________
Such a fine sight to see-Its a Girl, My Lord, in a Flatbed Ford slowin' down to take a look at me.
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 03:53 PM   #17
Al 29Tudor
Senior Member
 
Al 29Tudor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 615
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

I just tried Jackson's parallel condenser quick fix.
Loosen the passenger side terminal on the coil and slide the pigtail terminal under the nut and tighten it. Use a wire with two alligator clips, one the tab on the condenser and the other end to the screw on the firewall. just minutes
Great tip.
Al
Al 29Tudor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 04:34 PM   #18
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 451
Default Re: Jackson III 2nd Condenser -How

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacksonlll View Post
I think a lot of good condensers are changed out.
I have often thought about that. Back in the day when you brought your car in for a "tune up" they just automatically changed out the condenser (among other parts). no testing just out with the old, in with the new.

I wonder how many 'good' parts were just thrown out. Back when we were young and poor we salvaged many batteries, points, condensers, rotors, caps, etc.

Now I am old but still poor...
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.