Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2017, 07:45 AM   #1
ronzmtrwrx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Mo
Posts: 43
Default Main cap studs or bolts?

I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I did a search and couldn't find anything. I am preparing to assemble my engine (59 style block) and would like opinions on main cap fasteners. When I pulled this engine apart, it had bolts with lock washers on all the main caps. Another block I have here (scrap) has studs and castellated nuts. Should I just use the bolts that it had, or remove and use those studs from the scrap block, or just order a set of studs/nuts from ARP?
This is just a mild street motor and won't see much abuse, but I don't want to risk failure if reusing what I have is sketchy. Thanks. Ron
ronzmtrwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 07:54 AM   #2
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 2,891
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

As I don't know if your engine has been align bored or honed, I would consider using the bolts that came in it - as sometimes when you change hardware on the main caps, it can cause them to distort differently under torque load - causing inconsistent bearing clearances.

Now - with that said, this is probably not an issue with your engine - just something to know about when you put the crank in and check clearances and how easily it rotates.

Personally, I use ARP Studs in all my builds - but they are really high-end engines, so I look for all the help I can get!
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-08-2017, 08:16 AM   #3
Cheaterpete
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 57
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

I use original army french flathead bolts, never had an issue
Cheaterpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 09:44 AM   #4
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,045
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

If you´re not planning to upgrade the maincaps the original bolts/studs will be stronger then the caps...
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 10:04 AM   #5
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

Some of the really old motors had nuts on the bottom side but they weren't attached to studs. The bolts come through from the top. On a block that uses bolts, I would continue to use bolts myself. Studs can be in the way during overhaul and generally have to come out any way so I see no real advantage there.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 12:59 PM   #6
Overkill-F1
Member
 
Overkill-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 89
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Don't mean to hi-jack this thread, but...
I just lowered the crankshaft into the block yesterday in my '52 C1BA/8RT, to check clearances, etc.

The main caps have bolts only, no lockwashers or holes to add safety wire.
Should I use lock-tite on the bolts?
...Terry
Overkill-F1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 01:18 PM   #7
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

The torque is such that the bolt is stretched a bit. This level of torque should not require a locking feature. The bolt threads should be clean & dry.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 02:43 PM   #8
Overkill-F1
Member
 
Overkill-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 89
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorwrench View Post
The torque is such that the bolt is stretched a bit. This level of torque should not require a locking feature. The bolt threads should be clean & dry.
Thank you for replying rotorwrench.
I over-think/over-worry too much,
my dad gave me my Overkill nickname.
...Terry
Overkill-F1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 05:17 PM   #9
ronzmtrwrx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Mo
Posts: 43
Default Re: Main cap studs or bolts?

Thanks for all the info guys. I think I'll just use the bolts it had.
ronzmtrwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.