Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-20-2022, 12:52 PM   #1
101Scout

Default Advice needed for buying my roadster

Hey everyone!

Firstly, I apologize for asking newbie questions that have probably been asked too many times before. If there is a thread for this please point me in that direction.

I'm looking to purchase a Model A roadster, hopefully sometime this year. I'm fairly new to Model A's though I've been into cars and bikes my whole life. I'd like to get into a cool original(ish) A roadster. I really like the 28/29 body style but the 30/31 is pretty cool too and I've been told they are better than the earlier A's. So I'm wondering what I should look out for? What's a good price?

I'm currently looking at a few online. One is a 28 Canadian AR roadster that is complete, original and driveable. It looks pretty sweet and the asking price is $12k. It would have to be shipped to me.

Another one I like is a 29 roadster, all original driver asking $14k. Apparently good mechanical condition and titled. Also would need to be shipped.

There is a 31 project nearby which apparently runs and is complete but described as a jalopy and no title. I would have to go see it to assess the actual condition. Asking $12.5k.

Any pointers or critiques would be very welcome. Thanks everyone and have a great day!

Dave
101Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 01:09 PM   #2
chrs1961815

Default Re: Advice needed for buying my roadster

Depends on what those people are referring to original. Those prices seem high for unrestored cars, especially the 29 and the 31 project. You would probably want a 29 or later car simply because they are more reliable and easier to work on.
Old 01-20-2022, 01:12 PM   #3
ronn