Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2013, 06:28 AM   #1
Gold Digger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas & Alaska
Posts: 566
Default Gas gauge floats

I'm having trouble with my floats in all my "A's" I think because of the new gas. At the present they all have cork and have all water logged. I was wondering if I should replace them with brass floats or just coat new cork floats and install. What is the pro's and con's on brass?
Gold Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 06:43 AM   #2
ken ct
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: stratford,ct
Posts: 5,971
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

I would use a brass one any day over a cork one. Test even a new one in a pan of hot water on stove before using.Use a lrg. needle nose pliers on the middle of the float[lightly]completely immerse float in water. NOT boiling. Bubbles will come out of a leak like a inner tube.ken ct.
ken ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-05-2013, 07:07 AM   #3
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

i have used the neoprene floats so far with good success. forget about those corkys with this CRAP gas (tom). or what ken says whatever floats your boat

Last edited by Mitch//pa; 04-05-2013 at 09:20 AM.
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 08:21 AM   #4
Bob from Northport
Senior Member
 
Bob from Northport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 215 E. 6th Street Northport, Michigan 49670
Posts: 502
Default Re: Gas gauge float-where to get

Can anyone advise what type of brass float to use? Or where to obtain a brass float??

Bob
__________________
Bob from Northport
Northport, Michigan
Bob from Northport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:11 AM   #5
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,481
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

The neoprene floats work well and cost less than the brass floats. It's made from a closed cell material, so when you have to notch it some for the float to slide on far enough to reinstall the small brass washer, no harm is done.

I used cork on my float when I restored my guage about 15 years ago and it's still working fine. I always try to keep the tank full and this will keep the cork from drying out, although the coating should do that anyway.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 01:04 PM   #6
al's28/33
Senior Member
 
al's28/33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

Mike's Affordable parts has the brass ones. $10.00 plus shipping but well worth the cost. Be careful when securing it to the wire so as not to put pressure or crimp open any of the soldered seams.
__________________
1928 "A" Phaeton (mid year with many early features)
1933 "V8" Closed-Cab Pickup Truck
(originally a Model B, 4 Cylinder dating to May, 1933)
al's28/33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 01:13 PM   #7
P.S.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

A brass float will stand up to ANY fuel that the tank itself can withstand.

The brass float in my Tudor dates back to at least 1970, and still works fine. Maybe a little ugly, but nobody sees it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-20130208-00101.jpg (42.5 KB, 31 views)
P.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:23 PM   #8
Gold Digger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas & Alaska
Posts: 566
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

Well it wear a hole in the brass float if I run the tank low at times? Or worse yet, wear a hole in the bottom of the gas tank?
Gold Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:30 PM   #9
Mikeinnj
Senior Member
 
Mikeinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,235
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gold Digger View Post
Well it wear a hole in the brass float if I run the tank low at times? Or worse yet, wear a hole in the bottom of the gas tank?
Don't run it down low.....no problems.
Mikeinnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:35 PM   #10
P.S.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gold Digger View Post
Well it wear a hole in the brass float if I run the tank low at times? Or worse yet, wear a hole in the bottom of the gas tank?

If the float is touching the bottom of the gas tank, you are mere seconds away from a dead car. You'd never let it get down to drops anyway, would you? Even with a 1/2 gallon of fuel in the tank, the float doesn't touch. In fact, if you run the shutoff valve strainer like I do, the car will die before the float touches the bottom of the tank anyway.

But, even if it did touch... Brass is pretty soft. My guess is you could wear it out, but it would take weeks of continuous rubbing to do it.
P.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 05:57 PM   #11
Gord. B by the bay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Owen Sound Ont. Canada
Posts: 198
Default Re: Gas gauge floats

I have used the float from a Tillitson X carb works well and put a bend in the wire to keep float of the bottom of the tank mine was installed about 20 years ago no problem yet Grod B by the Bay
Gord. B by the bay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.