Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-04-2021, 08:36 PM   #1
bucket-o-rust

Default Brake springs

I'm rebuilding a 1930 front end and have new brake shoe springs and a good set of old brake shoe springs. I would like to use my old springs. My old springs are not as strong as my new springs. My new springs seem to me to be stronger than I need them to be. What are your opinions on this.
bucket-o-rust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 08:54 PM   #2
trevorsworth

Default Re: Brake springs

I am not an expert, but I have just done the brakes on all four corners of my coupe. Here is what I learned: your brake shoe springs can't be too strong. The old springs have endured many stretch/relax cycles and many heat cycles - they are tired. The brake shoe springs are providing most of the return force on the pedal, so you want as much power on them as possible to ensure the shoes retract fully and the pedal returns as soon as you let off.

I was tempted to reuse my old springs because the new springs were almost impossible to install because they were so strong. Use a cutoff wheel on an angle grinder to cut a slot in the end of a small flathead screwdriver. You can use the slot to hold the loose end of the spring and stretch it to catch on the shoe. This made the job a cinch and my brakes work way better now.

Last edited by trevorsworth; 06-04-2021 at 10:09 PM.
trevorsworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 10:22 PM   #3
bruceincam