Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
1940 coupe
Junior Member
 
1940 coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hebron, Ct
Posts: 5
Default 40 ford under dash wire routing

Can anyone post a photo of the wiring under a 40 ford dashboard
1940 coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 07:54 PM   #2
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,482
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

A wiring diagram would be much better to follow.
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-25-2014, 09:21 PM   #3
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,953
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

This may help.

Last edited by 19Fordy; 08-26-2014 at 08:09 AM.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:17 PM   #4
1940 coupe
Junior Member
 
1940 coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hebron, Ct
Posts: 5
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

thanks for the info on the dash wiring but I'm looking for the 'Routing' of the wiring. Is it attached to the firewall, dash ? Are there any mounting clamps ? Thanks again for your help
1940 coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 04:29 PM   #5
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,953
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

99% of it is NOT attached to the firewall, except for the circuit breaker which is screwed to the firewall. The wiring harness comes thru the firewall and the wires just plug into the dash. There is no specific route as the wiring harness wires are cut to the correct length so they fit. There are no special clamps to hold the wires, as I recall. It will become self evident once you start to plug in the wires to each component.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 04:42 PM   #6
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,573
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
This might help a little: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMUdWFFFSGE
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 07:37 PM   #7
1940 coupe
Junior Member
 
1940 coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hebron, Ct
Posts: 5
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Thanks for the comments on wire routing the 40. They were verry helpfull. I'll start on it tomorrow
1940 coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:20 PM   #8
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,992
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1940 coupe View Post
Thanks for the comments on wire routing the 40. They were verry helpfull. I'll start on it tomorrow
Are you attempting to do a concourse correct restoration? If so, I am willing to help you out.
There is of course a "correct" way (IE: the way Ford did it) to route your wiring and yes, there were clamps utilized in two places beneath the instrument panel.
Let me know...
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:52 PM   #9
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,953
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Kube, Just curious. Where are those two clamps located beneath the dash panel that you mentioned in your previous post? Thanks, JIM
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:01 AM   #10
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,992
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Fordy View Post
Kube, Just curious. Where are those two clamps located beneath the dash panel that you mentioned in your previous post? Thanks, JIM
Hi ya Jim, One is near the lower corner of the speedometer / gauge cluster. The other is at the center of the instrument panel - lower lip. That particular clamp was added early during the model year. If your panel has a small hole in the center - midway between where the radio hook holes are, then a clamp should be there.
Picture below depicts the clamp at the gauge cluster.
Mike
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN0568.jpg (36.0 KB, 127 views)
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:04 PM   #11
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,953
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Thanks KUBE. I learned something new, thanks to you. I always appreciate your willingness to share your knowledge
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:22 PM   #12
1940 coupe
Junior Member
 
1940 coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hebron, Ct
Posts: 5
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

concourse correct is what Im looking for. Are the clamps used to hold the instrument panel in also used as holders for the wire harness
1940 coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:55 PM   #13
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,992
Default Re: 40 ford under dash wire routing

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1940 coupe View Post
concourse correct is what Im looking for. Are the clamps used to hold the instrument panel in also used as holders for the wire harness
Clips...
The large one at the rear of the gauge cluster is identical in size to the clips on the engine side of the dash panel (firewall). However, the hole that goes over the stud has clearance only for that #12 stud. The clip that goes in the center of your instrument panel (dash board) looks like these clips but is much smaller. To reiterate part of my previous post, this clip is only used on instrument panels that have a small hole in the approximate middle (lower edge) of the panel. Very early panels did not have this feature. Both clips were dipped - black. The screw that holds the center clip in place is a #10 thin round head type. A split type lock washer and hex nut finish that off. All are cadmium plated.
Okay, for a concourse type restoration...
The harness is routed through the dash panel (firewall) as you know. Once inside the car, it goes pretty much straight back to the instrument panel (dash board). I would suggest you connect the wires their respective terminals loosely at first.
Once you get an idea of how things lay out, I would also suggest you route each and every wire in as neat / straight a fashion as you are able both horizontally and vertically. Keep in mind that the main harness is clamped under that clip as depicted in my earlier post.
Past that clip, the main harness was intended to lay upon the inside - lower edge of the instrument panel. Do this neatly and at this time, tighten attachment points as necessary.

Now, in reality, most certainly Ford (workers) did not pay any attention to being certain the wires were straight and neatly routed. The harness was installed with function and in some instances, clearance from nearby pieces in mind. Yes, the harness was secured under clips as noted.
Hope this helps,
Mike "Kube" Kubarth
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.