Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2018, 03:45 PM   #1
BillCNC
Senior Member
 
BillCNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: SoCal Desert
Posts: 431
Question FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Hi Folk's

OK, I got the rear Float-a-Motor mount's on the frame after finding a correctly made set. I now have a few questions about the front Float-a-Motor mount.

1. Is it necessary to use the front Float-a-Motor mount if you use the rears? (trying to not modify the frame)

2. If installed correctly per instructions, will the engine crank handle still be in alignment and functional?

Thanks in advance

Regards
Bill
BillCNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 04:19 PM   #2
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,996
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillCNC View Post
Hi Folk's

OK, I got the rear Float-a-Motor mount's on the frame after finding a correctly made set. I now have a few questions about the front Float-a-Motor mount.

1. Is it necessary to use the front Float-a-Motor mount if you use the rears? (trying to not modify the frame)

2. If installed correctly per instructions, will the engine crank handle still be in alignment and functional?

Thanks in advance

Regards
Bill
1. No, I only have the rear on my Town Sedan.

2. Sorry, I can't help you on this one, I have a tool box in the way. But I seem to remember that this was addressed once before.


__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aH2TvmjxIFM

Last edited by Y-Blockhead; 01-22-2018 at 04:49 PM.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-22-2018, 04:30 PM   #3
BillCNC
Senior Member
 
BillCNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: SoCal Desert
Posts: 431
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Thanks Blockhead,

I asked because I thought I read somewhere that if the front wasn't used, the motor angle would be wrong. Funny, I can't find that information anywhere, makes me think I might be rebuilding my car in my dreams when I'm sleeping.

I also just noticed your from Redondo area, ... I spent my first 20+ years in the Torrance, Redondo and Hollywood Riviera area right behind South High. All I can say is I'm glad I spent my childhood there. What a perfect area to raise children, to bad it grew way-outta my budget, ... by at least a million $$$!

Regards
Bill
BillCNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 04:48 PM   #4
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,996
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillCNC View Post
I spent my first 20+ years in the Torrance, Redondo and Hollywood Riviera area right behind South High. All I can say is I'm glad I spent my childhood there. What a perfect area to raise children, to bad it grew way-outta my budget, ... by at least a million $$$!

Regards
Bill
Yeah, Our Clubhouse is just down the street from South High at Walteria Park. I was lucky, I bought my house just before the prices went insane. I grew up in Hermosa...
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aH2TvmjxIFM
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 05:22 PM   #5
BillCNC
Senior Member
 
BillCNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: SoCal Desert
Posts: 431
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Walteria Park, ... OMG!

The fire pit, is it still behind the library? From 74 - 80 we had the fire department there at least twice a week, ... Literally.

My brother still lives the house I grew up in. The family has owned that home since 62 when my parent's one of the furnished 2000 sqft 2 story model homes for 38K!

Best part, ... Zero period in High School, ... SURFING!

Regards
Bill
BillCNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 09:59 PM   #6
Bjerg_Menneskene
Junior Member
 
Bjerg_Menneskene's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

It isn’t required to use a front float-a-motor if you are using the rear set up. You can use the crank, in fact I would make sure the crank lines up so that you know the engine is sitting at a correct angle.

When I did my front mount I bolted the mount to the engine and then set the rubber buiscuts so that the crank lined in perfectly. I then marked the front x-member for the mounting holes and then removed the mount and drilled the holes a size larger than the bolts to minimize vibration noise.
Bjerg_Menneskene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:37 AM   #7
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,247
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillCNC View Post
Hi Folk's

OK, I got the rear Float-a-Motor mount's on the frame after finding a correctly made set. I now have a few questions about the front Float-a-Motor mount.

1. Is it necessary to use the front Float-a-Motor mount if you use the rears? (trying to not modify the frame)

2. If installed correctly per instructions, will the engine crank handle still be in alignment and functional?

Thanks in advance

Regards
Bill
1. No
2. W/rear FAMs and stock front mount the crank lines up on out '31 CCPU.
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 10:01 AM   #8
Ray64
Senior Member
 
Ray64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 596
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

My 30 coupe aligns perfect for the hand crank without the front mount
Ray64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 11:36 AM   #9
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,705
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

It is my understanding from talking with others that the stock front motor mount works much better than the front float-a-motor when used in conjunction with the rear float-a-motor mounts.
In a nutshell: Use rear float-a-motors, keep the stock front.

Hint: When installing rear float-a-motors don't use the supplied bolts, go to the hardware store and get grade 5 bolts 1/4"longer...makes installation sooo much easier.
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 11:46 AM   #10
duke36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,108
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by burner31 View Post
It is my understanding from talking with others that the stock front motor mount works much better than the front float-a-motor when used in conjunction with the rear float-a-motor mounts.
In a nutshell: Use rear float-a-motors, keep the stock front.

Hint: When installing rear float-a-motors don't use the supplied bolts, go to the hardware store and get grade 5 bolts 1/4"longer...makes installation sooo much easier.
The kit supplied rear bolts are smaller diameter than the donut holes. Can a bolt the size of the hole be used so the dounts are firm to the bolts, or should they float?
duke36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 01:12 PM   #11
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,705
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Stay with the kit bolts for the donuts.
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 01:59 PM   #12
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,440
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

I have the opposite question. What about using the stock mounts on the rear and FAM on the front?
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 10:19 AM   #13
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,705
Default Re: FRONT Float-a-Motor Mount Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlG View Post
I have the opposite question. What about using the stock mounts on the rear and FAM on the front?
That will work.
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.