Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2018, 05:20 PM   #1
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,723
Default Tight choke rods

I have new choke/throttle cables the previous owner installed. They are very tight. Tight enough that one of the knobs was pulled off. I've removed the carb end and the carb parts operate fine. I have lubed both the solid ends of each cable pull. I had rubbed the cable with oil hoping some will ooze thru the cable. I halve checked for cable kinks. no help.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 06:38 PM   #2
petehoovie
Senior Member
 
petehoovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,150
Default Re: Tight choke rods

Rods or cables??? What year car?

Check you front motor mounts. Are they collapsed/worn? I recall replacing the front motor mounts on my '37 and when the installation was done, my throttle and choke knobs were sticking out about a half inch away from the face of the dash. I had to shorten the rods....
__________________
The only thing nice about being imperfect is the joy it brings to others....

"Silver rings, your butt! Them's washers! Damn!"
"We shot our way out of that town for a dollar's worth of steel holes." - from 'The Wild Bunch' - 1969
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NReUd2_0u0


Last edited by petehoovie; 03-27-2018 at 06:57 PM.
petehoovie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-27-2018, 07:24 PM   #3
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,723
Default Re: Tight choke rods

Mounts are new as well.

How does the cable sheath attach to the dash. I can't see it I thought I might try and remove the whole cable where I could work on it better.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 07:46 PM   #4
V12Bill
Senior Member
 
V12Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mt. Holly,NJ
Posts: 1,822
Default Re: Tight choke rods

My '39 has rods, not cables. Maybe the PO replaced the rods with cables. My throttle rod is very loose. I would like to tighten it up so that when I pull it out, it stays out. The choke rod is OK
V12Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 07:51 PM   #5
petehoovie
Senior Member
 
petehoovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,150
Default Re: Tight choke rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12Bill View Post
My '39 has rods, not cables. Maybe the PO replaced the rods with cables. My throttle rod is very loose. I would like to tighten it up so that when I pull it out, it stays out. The choke rod is OK
Sounds like you need a new rubber grommet insert placed in the dash where the rod comes through....
__________________
The only thing nice about being imperfect is the joy it brings to others....

"Silver rings, your butt! Them's washers! Damn!"
"We shot our way out of that town for a dollar's worth of steel holes." - from 'The Wild Bunch' - 1969
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NReUd2_0u0

petehoovie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 11:28 AM   #6
keith oh
Senior Member
 
keith oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Millersport, central ohio
Posts: 661
Default Re: Tight choke rods

Get some CA glue (Cyanoacrylate) at local Hobby shop,( or Family Dollar Store,) much cheaper. put a drop iIN the knob and replace. It won't come off any more. Be careful and don't get the glue on any thing else including the outside of the knob.
keith oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 12:27 PM   #7
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 885
Default Re: Tight choke rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
I have new choke/throttle cables the previous owner installed. They are very tight. Tight enough that one of the knobs was pulled off. I've removed the carb end and the carb parts operate fine. I have lubed both the solid ends of each cable pull. I had rubbed the cable with oil hoping some will ooze thru the cable. I halve checked for cable kinks. no help.
Check to be sure that the clamp that holds the cable housing at the firewall is not misaligned and not putting crushing force on the cable housing. Spray the entire length of cable with WD40 or Gibson. Also some on the rod with the knobs pulled all the way out. Wiggle and bend the cable a little along the full length. Spray it again and wait a day.
drolston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 07:29 PM   #8
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,723
Default Re: Tight choke rods

thanks
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.