Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2021, 10:22 PM   #1
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 432
Default remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

i'm wanting to find a permanent location for my remote oil filter. any thoughts on it being laid down a bit? where it is now is temporary using a hole already there. i'm trying to keep the engine bay clean and neat. if it does go anywhere where it is now, i would fabricate a rock shield for it. please no comments on it not being stock. i got dumped on once when i posted a pic of my project. that doesn't help one bit. thanks for any useful input you might have.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC02203.jpg (40.3 KB, 309 views)
File Type: jpg DSC02204.jpg (43.9 KB, 306 views)
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2021, 10:26 PM   #2
mercman from oz
Senior Member
 
mercman from oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 7,076
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe




Remote Oil Filter on 1936 Ford V8 Coupe.
mercman from oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-25-2021, 11:02 PM   #3
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 432
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

thanks, they wouldn't blow up for you?
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 06:41 AM   #4
russcc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

That's pretty much where I put the remote on the '40 coupe, but it was behind the stone shield in the wheel well. Will post photo later.
russcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 06:51 AM   #5
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 432
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

ooh yes, i'd like to see that. thanks. i think i can move it up about 2-1/2 " making the angle less severe.
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 06:59 AM   #6
cadillac512
Senior Member
 
cadillac512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 319
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
You can mount that filter setup at any angle you wish to and it will work fine. Most filters like that have an anti drain back valve in them, but even if yours doesn't it's low enough that there will not be any issues at all.
I'd probably tuck it up tighter to the body and run black hoses if it were mine. Even laid down horizontal will be fine.


Terry
__________________
"It don't take but country smarts to solve the problem" (Smokey Yunick)


'41 Merc Town Sedan / 260" 8CM engine
cadillac512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 07:10 AM   #7
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 432
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillac512 View Post
You can mount that filter setup at any angle you wish to and it will work fine. Most filters like that have an anti drain back valve in them, but even if yours doesn't it's low enough that there will not be any issues at all.
I'd probably tuck it up tighter to the body and run black hoses if it were mine. Even laid down horizontal will be fine.


Terry
great info, thanks. the hose is just mock-up stuff i had. it will be black, i don't want to see it.
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 08:42 AM   #8
ronzmtrwrx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Mo
Posts: 46
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

I would suggest some 45* fittings in the housing so you can mount it vertically. Less mess when you’re changing the oil. Then add a stone shield as you had planned and you should be good to go.
ronzmtrwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 10:41 AM   #9
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 3,070
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

With those big manly hoses I have to guess its a full flow system? Car looks good, what little we can see anyway !
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 10:55 AM   #10
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

For those who don't know, If it is a full-flow system, then hopefully your engine has the custom modifications necessary to use this type of filter. You really cannot use a full-flow without modifications to the oil-passages in the block and/or modifications to the oil-pump itself.

if you are returning the oil back to the pan, then there must be a restrictor in the input/feed side of the unit (about .060 to .080) - such that you don't bleed off the oil volume and pressure back to the pan and not into the engine.

For more info, see this thread:

https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=304270

Last edited by Bored&Stroked; 09-26-2021 at 11:09 AM.
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 10:59 AM   #11
russcc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

Tough place to get clear photos in the 40, but great protection from damage and easy access to change the filter. Parker-Hannifin should have the fittings.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1701.jpg (25.6 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1700.jpg (29.1 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1699.jpg (25.4 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1696.jpg (28.6 KB, 33 views)
russcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 11:23 AM   #12
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

I have mine added to the back side of my 32 K-member. You could do something similar.

Mine is mounted with wing nuts that allow me to put the filter in a vertical configuration for draining and then filling the filter before bolting it up horizontally with the wing nuts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN1701r.jpg (61.9 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN1704.jpg (58.2 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN1707.jpg (51.8 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN1709.jpg (67.9 KB, 32 views)
glennpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2021, 03:49 PM   #13
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 432
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

yes, the engine builder did the mods for the filter. lots of nice installations here. thanks for posting the pics. very useful stuff. i'll invite anybody else to post their flathead/oil filter installs here as well.

i'll add the engine builder youtube channel for anyone wanting to see/hear some nice flatheads, https://youtu.be/pip7HHhgu5A from here you can get to the list of videos.

Last edited by ford nut; 09-26-2021 at 03:57 PM.
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 07:34 PM   #14
Ramjet47
Member
 
Ramjet47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Whitsundays, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 31
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

Re: remote oil filter
I have fitted a remote oil filter to my 37 coup’e. I drilled the rear of my 37 block, as covered in Old Ron’s book ‘Nostalgia’. I fabricated a mount for the filter head using Aluminium Alloy plate and attached it to the left hand chassis rail, adjacent the fire wall, using the existing splash pan holes. The filter head, fittings and flex hoses are AeroFlow, with an ID the same as the rear cross block oil passage. The filter is a Rico Z9. I have a direct reading oil pressure gauge line fitted to the filter head outlet. The AutoMeter oil pressure gauge is mounted into a 37 radio head in the dash. If I was to do this mod again I would spot face the inner vertical oil hole before drilling full size. This would make tapping the thread easier.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3E88C2B3-976E-473E-A622-BC832B3C0BF7.jpg (26.9 KB, 192 views)
Ramjet47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 07:53 PM   #15
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 432
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

wow, very nice! thanks for the post. i hope everythings okay down your way.
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 05:03 AM   #16
mercman from oz
Senior Member
 
mercman from oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 7,076
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe


Ramjet47 fabricated this mount for the filter head using Aluminium Alloy plate and attached it to the left hand chassis rail, adjacent the fire wall, using the existing splash pan holes.
mercman from oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 09:42 AM   #17
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 8,046
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

Asimple bracket behind the steering box. Easy to change filter when doing an oil change.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 01:33 PM   #18
5851a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NE Iowa
Posts: 1,121
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

OT but my wifes baby is aPT Cruiser, Happy Wife Happy Life, anyway the oil filter is perfectly horizontal. It is by far the easiest car I've ever changed the oil on. Just crack it open a little and it drains into pan. Doesn't get on the filter or all over your hands. Same with the 60's and 70's 4x4 F series trucks. Just a thought.
5851a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 08:07 PM   #19
Ramjet47
Member
 
Ramjet47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Whitsundays, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 31
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

Remote Oil Filter 1937 Ford Coup’e.
Here are 4 photographs showing how I installed a remote oil filter in my 37 RHD coup’e.
I hope the will be of help to those of you considering this 95% filtration mod. I have been running this system for 1700 miles with 3 oil changes. No mess when changing the filter and easy access. The AutoMeter direct read gauge is great very good to have, right in front of you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1228.JPG (33.6 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1232.JPG (35.1 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1356.JPG (31.5 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2829.jpg (27.7 KB, 37 views)
Ramjet47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 09:26 PM   #20
1941Pony
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 20
Default Re: remote oil filter, 59 ab, 36 coupe

I would get some 45’s and run a shorter filter.
1941Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.