Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-09-2010, 06:54 PM   #1
darrenct83

Thumbs down A few questions about my '46 truck

I need a little help from a few of you old timers. I'm a certified auto tech, but I was born in to the fuel injection era so working on my old toy is a whole new ball game to me. I recently bought a 1946 1-1/2 ton Ford with a 226 straight six. I put a little marvel down the cylinders with some brake work, and I was able to bring the old beast back to life. The problem is that I'm so young I don't even know how the thing is supposed to drive. So I have a few questions.

Vibration:
When I rev the engine up the whole truck vibrates. I can only describe it as how an out of balance driveline feels. It vibrates any time the engine is revved up.(in or out of gear, clutch in or out.) Is this normal of these old engines? Are they just not balanced because they don't have to rev high at all? OR do I have something out of balance that needs attention?

Double Clutching:
I've been taught how to double clutch, and slowly but surely I'm getting used to it. Sometimes though it will always grind. Even at a complete stop going in to gear with the clutch in it will grind(Not every time though). Is this normal of old transmissions? OR do I have other problems?

Split rear end:
I try to engage the split rear end when I go above 30 mph. Sometimes while cruising with it engaged it just pops out and I can't get it to go back in. What's the trick? I get nervous every time I use the splitter now. Are there things I need to know about how to use it? Also: how is the speedometer reading affected by use of the splitter?

Thanks in advance for any help. If you want to see pictures of the truck, and read about some of the work I've done to it you can read my blog at:
http://darren.thiesen.us/my-first-farm-truck/
darrenct83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:26 PM   #2