Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-22-2018, 04:04 PM   #1
Brkile

Default Rebuilt B engine has no power dilema

Please bear with me here. I've been fooling with Model A's for 56 years, have repaired/"rebuilt"/patched/cobbled up many A engines, all ran good to excellent based on their condition. I decided to build a really good engine, for once. I did, and now it seems to me it has little power. I located a Model B engine that came out of a running "club tour" type car that was being made into a hot rod (ouch!!). The babbitt looked like it had been done not long ago, the crank was round. I bored it .060 over, decked, head was surfaced, some new valve seats, a small crack in the deck was pinned, new stainless valves, rebuilt carb from Berts. Bearings set to .001-.0015. It starts easily and runs perfectly quiet, doesn't overheat or smoke. None of the usual ticking, clanking, thudding or pounding that my other engines always had. Timing has been checked many times. No water in the oil or oil in the water. It just seems to have very little power. The car , '30 coupe , won't go over 40 mph (rebuilt speedo). The brakes aren't dragging. It has 80-85 psi compression. It turns freely with the hand crank.
Some thoughts, possible flat cam ?, bad coil? bearings too tight? Or is it just not broken in ?? I have only driven it about 50 miles because it is miserable to drive in this Bay Area traffic as it is.
Anybody have any ideas or thoughts on this ?? HELP !!
Brkile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 04:18 PM   #2
Charlie Stephens

Default Re: Rebuilt B engine has no power dilema