Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2019, 04:25 PM   #1
rbone
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 48
Default Need to replace Plug Wires

Just doing a little preventative maintenance on my 59ab. Current plug wires are vintage Sears 7mm from 1966 (not kidding at all). Car is a driver, so just looking for reliability.

Question - what is the best set of wires I can get today that will still go through the looms?

BTW - I'm sending one of my old coils to Skip and one of my spare crabby patties to Bubba's.

Thanks in advance,
Ron
rbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 04:49 PM   #2
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

You can gwt 7MM Packard 440 from Brillman's. It's all I use. There is nothing on AM radio anyway. They have an incredible bunch of stuff that you can use.

Last edited by tubman; 09-13-2019 at 05:00 PM.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-13-2019, 05:15 PM   #3
slowforty
Senior Member
 
slowforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tinley Park Ill
Posts: 649
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Or on the Cops'radio next to you.
slowforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 06:19 PM   #4
31Abone
Senior Member
 
31Abone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Big pine Ca 93513
Posts: 699
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Don't ever use carbon core wires for anything..had problems with goofy wires that was fixed by using solid wire core....sc
31Abone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:09 AM   #5
koates
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia.
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

If the 1966 wires are solid copper type and working good then just leave them on there. Don't fix what aint broke. Regards, Kevin.
koates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 12:22 PM   #6
supereal
Senior Member
 
supereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,331
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Order a set from C&G. They good quality copper core wires cut to proper length.
800/266-0470. There are different types for different distributors, so know what you have before ordering.
supereal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 05:01 PM   #7
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,515
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

I recently installed at set from Dennis Carpenter and am very satisfied with them.
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 06:04 PM   #8
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 1,768
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

i have seen many threads here over the years about not using carbon wires. when there are millions of other cars using them, i gotta ask, what is different about our flatheads? i have them on my 34 jalopy because i want to have a modern radio. its runs perfect right now, however, no miles to speak of. using the cheap moroso black ones which have been actually recommended by bubba on occasion.
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 06:09 PM   #9
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Sure, they work good, but somehow, it just don't seem right.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 06:35 PM   #10
rustythumb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: orange co. ca.
Posts: 134
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

don't send anything to bubba until he says he's ready for it. he's still catching up! i'm been waiting 4 months for my distributor. [yes, i know why]
rustythumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:33 PM   #11
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,857
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

I've had pretty good dealings with these guys in the past. Been a few yrs but great place for bulk plug wires and ends. Easy to make up your own.



https://www.thehotrodcompany.com/pro...ark-plug-wire/
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:34 PM   #12
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,857
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustythumb View Post
don't send anything to bubba until he says he's ready for it. he's still catching up! i'm been waiting 4 months for my distributor. [yes, i know why]

At least he's honest about it. I wouldn't worry about it being in the queue.

Last edited by Tinker; 09-14-2019 at 08:40 PM.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:35 PM   #13
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,857
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Quote:
Originally Posted by cas3 View Post
i have seen many threads here over the years about not using carbon wires. when there are millions of other cars using them, i gotta ask, what is different about our flatheads? i have them on my 34 jalopy because i want to have a modern radio. its runs perfect right now, however, no miles to speak of. using the cheap moroso black ones which have been actually recommended by bubba on occasion.

Electronic ignition use spirals. Points use copper "solid wires?. Just my opinion.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:43 PM   #14
rbone
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 48
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Bubba and I have been talking about that. I'm not in a hurry.
rbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:45 PM   #15
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 1,768
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

i'm not up on the modern stuff, what is spirals ?, and i get "the look", certainly some rajas on braided wire has the look, but carbon wire predates electronic ignition, and by golly i've never had a radio in an old car and i'm gonna have one some day when i grow up
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:48 PM   #16
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,857
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Spiral wires have built in resistance.

http://jerickweb.50webs.com/autobin/...lug_wires.html

The "new wires" on the site I posted are coated internally for a more modern wire. Still will have some rf interference.

I don't have a radio.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 08:55 PM   #17
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 1,768
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

good link tinker, thanks for the education
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 09:02 PM   #18
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,857
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Radio or ignition...

https://www.hotrod.com/articles/1006rc-ignition-wiring/

If link doesn't work. Think most will agree if not they can disagree.


First off, your particular ignition system will tell you what type of plug wire you should or-more importantly-shouldn’t use. Early points-style ignitions and magnetos used low-resistance wires to carry a lower voltage as compared to modern systems, which can easily carry up to twice the load, thus requiring a higher tolerance wire. Running a modern, spiral-core suppression wire with the early ignition can actually decrease the voltage being carried to the plugs; running the early solid-cores with a high-output (breakerless, capacitive discharge, or HEI) system can easily result in damaged electronic components for the exact opposite reason. There’s more to a plug wire than the color of its skin.
.

Last edited by Tinker; 09-15-2019 at 12:43 AM.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 07:11 AM   #19
Sod Buster
Senior Member
 
Sod Buster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 134
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

I like the set I got from MACs, one of the more difficult easy jobs on the car, it was like wrestling a can of snakes to get it threaded and compacted into the cap top.

Sod Buster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 10:20 PM   #20
cajunfirehawk
Senior Member
 
cajunfirehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Ms GulfCoast
Posts: 116
Default Re: Need to replace Plug Wires

Anyone use the red see thru 7mm stuff Speedway sells in a kit w/Rajah ends?
__________________
Regards,
Todd

1936 FORD Tudor Slantback


cajunfirehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.