Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-18-2021, 05:04 PM   #1
Russell Reay

Default Body assembly and Woody plans

Greetings all--newbie here. I just bought my first Model A, and am coming to grips with how much I have to learn. Have joined MAFCA and received vols I and II of Les Andrews' handbook. My car runs fine, but is an assemblage of at least two vehicles, plus some Jed Clampett / Home Depot fabrication. Before I start disassembly I need a manual which shows the correct assembly details. Twenty years ago I built a 57 Chevy pickup, and found the factory assembly manual to be absolutely indispensable, but have not been able to find a similar book for the model A. There are a number of restoration books --are these what I need?? Aft of the windshield the only authentic body parts are the running boards and rear fenders. I think a woody is the most versatile body style to create under these circumstances since I have a good shop and plenty of hardwood lumber. Google has located Pleasantville bodies, and a number of leads to plans, but nothing recent. Are there good plans for a woody body out there? Thanks in advance for any help.
Russell Reay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 05:26 PM   #2
BRENT in 10-uh-C

Default Re: Body assembly and Woody plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell Reay View Post
Google has located Pleasantville bodies, and a number of leads to plans, but nothing recent. Are there good plans for a woody body out there? Thanks in advance for any help.
Russell, welcome to Fordbarn.

The owner of Pleasantville passed away a few years ago and so it is no more. There was some plans floating around of a generic Station Wagon body but when compared to the original Ford-built body, it was not close in aesthetics.